New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From Ireland · Knee replacement · Poland

Knee replacement in Poland from Ireland: what the trip costs against the wait at home

Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Irish patients, a knee replacement in Poland costs €5,870–€8,850 at the clinics we checked, or about €6,920 once an example return flight and 10 hotel nights are added.

Clinic price
€5,870–€8,8504 providers, one primary total knee replacement on one side, with the implant and hospital stay. Partial knees and fees without the implant are shown but not compared
Example trip
€6,920clinic €5,870 + flight €150 + 10 hotel nights €900
Pay privately in Ireland
Not verified
Wait in Ireland
About 35% waiting over 6 months (all orthopaedic surgery) (24 September 2026)
Time there
About 10 to 14 days in many cases: 2 to 4 nights in hospital, then physiotherapy near the clinic until the surgeon says you can fly. Ask for the clinic’s own rule
Rank from Ireland
1 of 4 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in EUR

Trip total €6,920

Lowest published clinic price, an example return fare from Ireland and 10 hotel nights at €90. Examples, not quotes.

Figure 2Knee replacement: cheapest trip from Ireland, by country

Total trip in EUR: lowest to highest published price plus the same example flight and hotel rules. Click a country for its page for Irish patients.

Published knee replacement prices in Poland

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

Knee replacement prices in Poland
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
KORT KlinikaOpole29,000 PLNabout £5,530 · €6,600 · C$10,340 · $7,390Total knee replacement: surgery 22,000 PLN plus total knee prosthesis 7,000 PLNPre-operative tests if required, the operation, the implant, up to 3 days in hospital and in-hospital rehabilitation. Partial (one-compartment) knee 27,000 PLN.KORT Klinika (Opole)read 26 October 2026
Klinika SilesiaOpole29,000 PLNabout £5,530 · €6,600 · C$10,340 · $7,390Total knee replacement (TKA)The operation, implant, hospital stay and perioperative care. Partial knee (UKA) 27,000 PLN.Klinika Silesia (Opole)read 26 October 2026
KCM ClinicJelenia Góra32,900 PLN to 38,900 PLNabout £6,270–£7,410 · €7,490–€8,850 · C$11,730–C$13,870 · $8,380–$9,910PAKIET OP total knee replacement, by implant (Enovis Lima cemented or Zimmer NexGen 32,900 to Mathys BalanSys nickel-free 38,900)Named implant, anaesthesia, 3 days in hospital and 7 days of rehabilitation. DePuy Attune package 33,900. Surgery and implant without the package: 28,900 to 34,900.KCM Clinic (Jelenia Góra)read 26 October 2026
Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne)PoznańFrom 25,800 PLNabout £4,920 · €5,870 · C$9,200 · $6,570Knee replacement, 4-day stayPrice “from”, 4-day stay. Anaesthetist consultation 365 PLN extra. Implant not stated.Szpital św. Wojciecha (Poznań)read 26 October 2026
Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”)Konstancin-Jeziorna10,000 PLNabout £1,910 · €2,280 · C$3,560 · $2,550Primary total knee replacement, procedure fee onlyImplant, prosthesis, fixation and drugs charged on top at tendered prices (not stated); anaesthesia and nursing 1,000 PLN; room 200 to 400 PLN a day. Not comparable with an all-in price.Not comparableMazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer” (gov.pl)read 26 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Poznań's MSWiA hospital is a public hospital that also sells services to paying patients; its list is dated 1 January 2026. Private clinics in Warsaw publish similar or higher prices. Polish eye clinics charge a separate qualification visit before cataract surgery.

Against waiting or paying in Ireland

Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026: About 35% waiting over 6 months (all orthopaedic surgery). Orthopaedics as a whole, not knee replacement alone: 14,988 adults on the inpatient/day-case list, 35.2% waiting over 6 months; 82,991 waiting for a first orthopaedic outpatient appointment, 46.4% over 6 months. Waits and prices for a knee replacement in Ireland.

Can the HSE pay?

From Ireland (HSE): Poland is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.

Planning the trip from Ireland

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for a knee replacement and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goSend recent X-rays and a list of your medicines, and ask for a written, itemised quote with the implant named.
  3. Before you goArrange physiotherapy at home for after you return before you book.
  4. Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned surgery abroad and a delayed flight home. Most standard policies do not.
  5. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  6. LanguagePolish; private clinics in big cities often have English-speaking staff, public hospitals less often.
  7. After you returnGive your GP and physiotherapist the operation note with the implant details.
  8. After you returnA hot, swollen calf, chest pain or breathlessness after the flight need emergency care straight away.

Add your flight and hotel

Put in your real fare from Ireland and your hotel to see the total for Poland next to every other country.

Open the calculator

Related pages

Knee replacement in Poland from Ireland: questions

How much is a knee replacement in Poland for Irish patients?

The published prices we found work out at €5,870–€8,850 at the clinic, from KORT Klinika, Klinika Silesia, KCM Clinic and Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne). With an example return flight of €150 and 10 hotel nights at €90, the trip comes to about €6,920. Your own fares and dates will change the total.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in Ireland?

We have not verified a self-pay price in Ireland for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.

How long is the wait for a knee replacement in Ireland?

Ireland (public hospitals): About 35% waiting over 6 months (all orthopaedic surgery) (24 September 2026). Orthopaedics as a whole, not knee replacement alone: 14,988 adults on the inpatient/day-case list, 35.2% waiting over 6 months; 82,991 waiting for a first orthopaedic outpatient appointment, 46.4% over 6 months.

How many days do I need in Poland?

About 10 to 14 days in many cases: 2 to 4 nights in hospital, then physiotherapy near the clinic until the surgeon says you can fly. Ask for the clinic’s own rule. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will the HSE pay for it?

Possibly in part: the Cross Border Directive scheme refunds up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid and with a referral.

Sources

  1. Cennik: zabiegi ortopedyczne. KORT Klinika (Opole). Read 26 October 2026.
  2. Ile kosztuje endoproteza kolana w Polsce w 2026 roku?. Klinika Silesia (Opole). Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Cennik: ortopedia. KCM Clinic (Jelenia Góra). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Cennik: ortopedia, staw kolanowy. Szpital św. Wojciecha (Poznań). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Cennik Szpitala im. prof. M. Weissa: operacje ortopedyczne. Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer” (gov.pl). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Open data: inpatient/day case waiting list by specialty, 2026. National Treatment Purchase Fund (NTPF), October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  7. Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  8. Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  9. Cennik usług medycznych obowiązujący od 1.01.2026 (price list valid from 1 January 2026). Szpital MSWiA w Poznaniu (Ministry of Interior hospital, Poznań), 1 January 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  10. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.