New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From US · Hip replacement · Poland

Hip replacement in Poland from the US: what the trip costs against paying at home

Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Americans, a hip replacement in Poland costs $6,370–$8,280 at the clinics we checked, or about $8,370 once an example return flight and 10 hotel nights are added. That is about $20,730 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in the US ($29,100).

Clinic price
$6,370–$8,2804 providers, one primary total hip replacement on one side, with the implant and hospital stay. Fees that leave out the implant or the stay are shown but not compared
Example trip
$8,370clinic $6,370 + flight $900 + 10 hotel nights $1,100
Pay privately in US
$29,100
Wait in US
No national waiting list
Time there
About 10 to 14 days in many cases: 2 to 4 nights in hospital, then time near the clinic until the surgeon says you can fly. Ask for the clinic’s own rule
Rank from US
1 of 4 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in USD

Trip total $8,370$20,730 under home

Lowest published clinic price, an example return fare from the US and 10 hotel nights at $110; the amber line is the lowest self-pay price at home. Examples, not quotes.

Figure 2Hip replacement: cheapest trip from the US, by country

Total trip in USD: lowest to highest published price plus the same example flight and hotel rules. The dashed line is the lowest self-pay price at home. Click a country for its page for Americans.

Published hip replacement prices in Poland

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

Hip replacement prices in Poland
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
KORT KlinikaOpole25,000 PLN to 30,000 PLNabout £4,760–£5,720 · €5,690–€6,830 · C$8,910–C$10,690 · $6,370–$7,640Hip replacement: surgery 22,000 PLN plus the implant chosen (cemented +3,000 to full-ceramic uncemented +8,000)All operations include pre-operative tests if required, the operation, the implant and the hospital stay with nursing care; this line says “operation, up to 3 days’ stay, rehabilitation in hospital”. Totals by implant: cemented 25,000; uncemented metal-on-polyethylene 27,000; ceramic-on-polyethylene 29,000; full ceramic 30,000. Anaesthetist consultation 300 PLN extra.KORT Klinika (Opole)read 26 October 2026
Klinika SilesiaOpole28,000 PLNabout £5,330 · €6,370 · C$9,980 · $7,130Hip replacementThe procedure plus the hospital stay and hospital care. Implant not named. The clinic adds that the price depends on the type of operation and the medical materials used.Klinika Silesia (Opole)read 26 October 2026
KCM ClinicJelenia Góra26,500 PLN to 32,500 PLNabout £5,050–£6,190 · €6,030–€7,400 · C$9,450–C$11,590 · $6,750–$8,280PAKIET OP hip replacement, by implant (cemented Enovis Lima or Zimmer 26,500 to Lima Modular Dual Mobility 32,500)Named implant, anaesthesia, 3 days in hospital and rehabilitation for up to 7 days. Uncemented package 28,500. Surgery and implant without the package: 22,500 to 28,500. The clinic says prices may be updated and are confirmed before booking.KCM Clinic (Jelenia Góra)read 26 October 2026
Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne)PoznańFrom 26,500 PLNabout £5,050 · €6,030 · C$9,450 · $6,750Hip replacement, 4-day stayPrice “from”, with a 4-day stay. Anaesthetist consultation 365 PLN extra; each extra hospital day 1,400 PLN. Implant not stated.Szpital św. Wojciecha (Poznań)read 26 October 2026
Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”, a regional-government company)Konstancin-Jeziorna8,000 PLN to 10,000 PLNabout £1,520–£1,910 · €1,820–€2,280 · C$2,850–C$3,560 · $2,040–$2,550Primary total hip replacement: cemented (8,000) or uncemented (10,000), procedure fee onlyProcedure fee only. The implant, prosthesis, fixation and drugs are charged on top “at prices from tendered contracts” (amount not stated), as are anaesthesia and nursing (750 to 1,000 PLN) and the room (200 to 400 PLN a day). Not comparable with an all-in price.Not comparableMazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer” (gov.pl)read 26 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Poznań's MSWiA hospital is a public hospital that also sells services to paying patients; its list is dated 1 January 2026. Private clinics in Warsaw publish similar or higher prices. Polish eye clinics charge a separate qualification visit before cataract surgery.

Against waiting or paying in the US

The US has no national public waiting list; what matters is the price your insurer or the hospital charges.

Paying privately in the US: $29,100, from Hospital cash prices (JAMA Network Open study). These are 2021 hospital cash-price medians or a dental school estimate, so today’s prices are probably higher.

Can your insurer pay?

Ask your insurer before you book. Plans rarely pay for planned treatment abroad unless they have agreed in writing first.

Planning the trip from the US

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for a hip replacement and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goSend recent X-rays and a list of your medicines, and ask for a written, itemised quote with the implant named.
  3. Before you goPlan help at home and the exercises for the weeks after you return.
  4. Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned surgery abroad and a delayed flight home. Most standard policies do not.
  5. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: US citizens (State Department, choose the country).
  6. LanguagePolish; private clinics in big cities often have English-speaking staff, public hospitals less often.
  7. After you returnGive your GP the operation note with the implant details, and ask who will check your wound and do your follow-up X-ray.
  8. After you returnA hot, swollen calf, chest pain or breathlessness after the flight need emergency care straight away.

Add your flight and hotel

Put in your real fare from the US and your hotel to see the total for Poland next to every other country.

Open the calculator

Related pages

Hip replacement in Poland from the US: questions

How much is a hip replacement in Poland for Americans?

The published prices we found work out at $6,370–$8,280 at the clinic, from KORT Klinika, Klinika Silesia, KCM Clinic and Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne). With an example return flight of $900 and 10 hotel nights at $110, the trip comes to about $8,370. Your own fares and dates will change the total.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in the US?

Yes, by about $20,730 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is $29,100. The gap shrinks if your flight costs more or you need extra nights.

How long is the wait for a hip replacement in the US?

There is no national public waiting list in the US; the question is usually the price your insurer pays.

How many days do I need in Poland?

About 10 to 14 days in many cases: 2 to 4 nights in hospital, then time near the clinic until the surgeon says you can fly. Ask for the clinic’s own rule. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will my insurer pay for it?

Ask your insurer before booking. Most plans pay little or nothing for planned treatment abroad unless they agree in advance.

Sources

  1. Cennik: zabiegi ortopedyczne. KORT Klinika (Opole). Read 26 October 2026.
  2. Endoproteza biodra: gdzie zrobić? Cennik. Klinika Silesia (Opole). Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Cennik: ortopedia. KCM Clinic (Jelenia Góra). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Cennik: ortopedia, staw biodrowy. Szpital św. Wojciecha (Poznań). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Cennik Szpitala im. prof. M. Weissa: operacje ortopedyczne. Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer” (gov.pl). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Price transparency in hospitals: cash prices for common services (Jiang, Makary, Bai), JAMA Network Open. JAMA Network Open, via PubMed Central, 21 December 2021. Read 26 October 2026.
  7. Cennik usług medycznych obowiązujący od 1.01.2026 (price list valid from 1 January 2026). Szpital MSWiA w Poznaniu (Ministry of Interior hospital, Poznań), 1 January 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  8. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.