Cataract surgery · Thailand
Cataract surgery in Thailand: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home
Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
We found 2 published prices for cataract surgery in Thailand, from ฿41,000 to ฿83,640, or about £909 to £1,850 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £2,000 to £3,610 at the providers we checked.
- Published price
- ฿41,000 to ฿83,640about £909 to £1,850 · about €1,090 to €2,210 · about C$1,700 to C$3,470 · about $1,210 to $2,480
- Price is for
- one eye, standard (monofocal) lens, unless the row says otherwise
- Where
- Bangkok and Khon Kaen
- Providers
- 2 (Bumrungrad International Hospital and Ratchaphruek Hospital)
- Time there
- 3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly
- NHS England wait
- 72.2% within 18 weeks (all eye care) (August 2026)
Published cataract surgery prices in Thailand
Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bumrungrad International HospitalBangkok | ฿83,640about £1,850 · €2,210 · C$3,470 · $2,480 | Phacoemulsification of cataract, day caseFrom a 2025 package sheet hosted by an insurer (FWD Thailand). Lens type and whether the price is per eye are not stated. 2025 package sheet. | Bumrungrad International Hospitalread 26 October 2026 |
| Ratchaphruek HospitalKhon Kaen | ฿41,000 to ฿43,000about £909–£953 · €1,090–€1,140 · C$1,700–C$1,780 · $1,210–$1,270 | Cataract extraction package, one eyeStandard (hard lens) 41,000, ultrasound (soft lens) 43,000. Prior diagnostics excluded. Khon Kaen is in north-east Thailand. Valid 1 March to 31 December 2026. | Ratchaphruek Hospitalread 26 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Some Bangkok hospitals publish lower package prices that are only for Thai nationals and foreigners living in Thailand. MedPark Hospital's colonoscopy package, for example, says “The price is exclusively for Thai nationals and expatriates residing in Thailand” (MedPark). We leave such prices out. The Bumrungrad surgical prices here come from a 2025 sheet hosted by an insurer, so ask the hospital for its current price.
Compared with waiting or paying at home
The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Thailand price converted to that currency. The Thailand figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.
| Where you live | Official wait | Pay at home | Here, converted |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | 72.2% within 18 weeks (all eye care)England, August 2026 | £2,000 to £3,610 | £909 to £1,850before flights and hotel |
| Canada | Median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 daysCanada (national), 2025 | Not verified | C$1,700 to C$3,470before flights and hotel |
| Ireland | About 42% waiting over 6 months (all eye surgery)Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026 | €3,200 | €1,090 to €2,210before flights and hotel |
| US | No national figure | $3,6802021 hospital data or a dental school | $1,210 to $2,480before flights and hotel |
Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.
Add your flight and hotel
Put in your own flight and hotel to see the total for Thailand next to your wait and your price at home.
How it works for a visitor
- Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the cataract surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk your optician or eye doctor for your latest prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goPlan for the clinic's rules on flying after surgery, and bring someone with you if you can.
- LanguageThai; the large Bangkok private hospitals work in English and many other languages.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- After you returnYou will use eye drops for several weeks. Tell your optician you had surgery abroad and bring the operation note with the lens details.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or flashing lights after surgery need urgent care at home.
Can your public system pay for it?
NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Thailand. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Thailand is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.
When not to travel for cataract surgery
- Other eye disease that needs regular follow-up (glaucoma, diabetic eye disease, macular degeneration) unless your home specialist agrees.
- Anyone who cannot stay a few days after surgery or cannot use eye drops reliably on their own.
How to compare cataract surgery quotes
Cataract surgery replaces the cloudy natural lens of the eye with a plastic lens implant. It is usually done under local anaesthetic in 15 to 30 minutes, one eye at a time. Prices depend heavily on the lens: a standard monofocal lens costs far less than a multifocal or toric (astigmatism) lens.
- Check the lens type in the price. Premium lenses can double the cost.
- Ask whether the pre-operative measurements, the eye drops and the next-day check are included.
- Ask who you contact if something goes wrong after you have flown home.
- Both eyes are usually done on different days. Check whether the price is per eye.
Providers on this page
We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.
- Bumrungrad International Hospital, Bangkok: ฿83,640
- Ratchaphruek Hospital, Khon Kaen: ฿41,000 to ฿43,000
Related comparisons
- Cataract surgery abroad: all 5 countries compared
- Cataract surgery in Mexico
- Cataract surgery in Turkey
- Cataract surgery in Poland
- Cataract surgery in Hungary
- MRI scan in Thailand
- Colonoscopy in Thailand
- Health check-up in Thailand
- Laser eye surgery in Thailand
- Dental implant in Thailand
- Veneers in Thailand
- Hip replacement in Thailand
- Knee replacement in Thailand
- IVF in Thailand
- Treatment in Thailand: every procedure
- Wait or Fly home: the calculator
Cataract surgery in Thailand: questions
How much does cataract surgery cost in Thailand?
The published prices we found range from ฿41,000 to ฿83,640, about £909 to £1,850 or $1,210 to $2,480. They come from Bumrungrad International Hospital and Ratchaphruek Hospital. Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.
Is cataract surgery in Thailand cheaper than paying privately in the UK?
Before travel, the prices here work out at about £909 to £1,850, against about £2,000 to £3,610 at the UK providers we checked. Add a return flight and 4 nights in a hotel before deciding; the calculator on the home page does the sum.
Will the NHS or HSE pay for cataract surgery in Thailand?
No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. Thailand is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.
How many days should I plan in Thailand?
3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.
What should I check before booking cataract surgery in Thailand?
Check the lens type in the price. Premium lenses can double the cost. Ask whether the pre-operative measurements, the eye drops and the next-day check are included.
Sources
- Bumrungrad International Hospital: top surgical packages 2025 (sheet hosted by FWD Insurance Thailand). Bumrungrad International Hospital, via FWD Insurance, 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
- Cataract extraction package. Ratchaphruek Hospital, Khon Kaen. Read 26 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Colonoscopy package. MedPark Hospital, Bangkok. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.