New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

Seoul, South Korea · Hospital

Samsung Medical Center: booking, waiting time and prices for international patients

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

Samsung Medical Center is a university hospital, private service in Seoul with a service for patients from abroad: international Healthcare Center (IHC) 'operates exclusively for international patients'; primary care plus visiting specialists in breast surgery, cardiology, family medicine, gastroenterology, obstetrics, orthopaedic surgery (spine), pediatric neurology, pulmonology, rehabilitation, rheumatology; referral into SMC's specialty centers; video consultations with overseas patients after evaluation; interpretation requested at booking; direct billing with insurers; 'OPEN CARD' service (register a card, leave without paying at the desk).

City
Seoul, South Korea (airport ICN)
Type
University hospital, private service
Accreditation
None named
Known for
Cancer care, Heart and Check-ups
Booking time
Not published; replies “It will take 3-5 business days to process your request.”
Languages
English, Chinese and Russian

How soon it can see you, against the wait at home

Each line is Samsung Medical Center's own words about time, sorted by what it measures. A hospital's booking time is a promise for its international service, not an official statistic; ask for a date in writing, and only then book flights.

Samsung Medical Center does not publish how soon it can book you; it does say how fast it replies.

How fast it answers an enquiry

  • Processing of an online appointment request: “It will take 3-5 business days to process your request.” Source
Official waits at home for treatments Samsung Medical Center offers
Treatment hereWait in UKWait in CanadaWait in Ireland
Colonoscopy30.9% waiting over 6 weeksNo figureAbout 30% waiting over 6 months
Gastroscopy29.9% waiting over 6 weeksNo figureNo figure
MRI scan22.0% waiting over 6 weeksMedian 59 days; 1 in 10 waited over 206 daysNo figure
CT scan11.2% waiting over 6 weeksMedian 14.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 144 daysNo figure

What Samsung Medical Center is known for

  • Cancer care. Samsung Comprehensive Cancer Center with named centers: brain tumor, breast, colorectal, gastric, urologic, gynecologic, head and neck, hematologic, liver, lung and esophageal; proton center named on the billing page Source
  • Heart. Heart Vascular Stroke Institute (menu link) Source
  • Check-ups. Health Promotion Center, packages from 3 hours to 7-8 hours with MRI and PET-CT Source

Size and track record, in its own words

  • IHC: 'Since 1995 ... patients from over 120 countries' (provider's own claim) Source
  • More than 50 clinical departments, 10 specialized centers, over 120 clinics; founded 1994 Source

How to book as a foreign patient

Online 'Request an Appointment' form, choose Consultation or Health Screening. Form takes about 10 minutes. Payment is in Korean won only (Mastercard, Visa, American Express, UnionPay). Outpatient exam costs (excluding consultation fee) must be paid before service; for inpatient care an estimate is given at the pre-admission consultation and 80% of the estimate is paid on admission day. IHC contact: +82-2-3410-0200, ihs.smc@samsung.com. International patients page

Treatments and published prices

It offers health check-ups, colonoscopies, gastroscopies, MRI scans, CT scans, heart check-ups and cancer screening packages. Compare every provider in South Korea: health check-up in South Korea, colonoscopy in South Korea, mri scan in South Korea, ct scan in South Korea, heart check-up in South Korea, cancer screening in South Korea.

Prices published by Samsung Medical Center
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩1,874,000 to ₩2,323,000about £1,060–£1,310 · €1,260–€1,570 · C$1,980–C$2,450 · $1,410–$1,750Primary check-up (3 hours) (men 1,874,000, women 2,323,000)Body composition, eyes, chest X-ray, ECG, sedated EGD (gastroscopy), abdominal ultrasound, blood, urine and stool tests with tumor markers (AFP, CEA, CA 19-9, PSA). No colonoscopy.Samsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩2,838,000 to ₩3,550,000about £1,600–£2,010 · €1,910–€2,390 · C$3,000–C$3,750 · $2,140–$2,680Executive on Cancer check-up (5 hours) (men 2,838,000, women 3,550,000)Page: 'Comprehensive screening including CT scans and gastroscopy/colonoscopy for the early detection of various cancers.' Per the package tab: abdominal CT, low-dose chest CT, thyroid ultrasound, sedated EGD and colonoscopy.Samsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩2,990,000 to ₩3,439,000about £1,690–£1,940 · €2,020–€2,320 · C$3,160–C$3,630 · $2,260–$2,600Executive check-up (4 hours) (men 2,990,000, women 3,439,000)Page: 'Extensive screening, featuring echocardiography and gastroscopy/colonoscopy'. Includes carotid Doppler, bone densitometry.Samsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩7,857,000 to ₩8,216,000about £4,440–£4,640 · €5,300–€5,540 · C$8,300–C$8,680 · $5,930–$6,200Premium check-up (7 to 8 hours) with brain MRI and MRA and PET-CT, age 40 and over (men 7,857,000, women 8,216,000)Package, not a single MRI. Page: 'full-body screening ... featuring MRI and PET-CT imaging'. Includes sedated EGD and colonoscopy, coronary Ca CT, low-dose chest CT, abdominal CT per the tab.Samsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩1,500,000about £847 · €1,010 · C$1,590 · $1,130Optional test add-on: Brain MRI & MRA'Available as optional enhancements with a selected screening package.' Evaluates brain and cerebrovascular diseases. Not sold alone per the page wording.Not comparableSamsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩265,000about £150 · €179 · C$280 · $200Optional test add-on: Colonoscopy'Examines the entire colon and rectum.' Sedation and biopsy: not stated on the add-on line (the packages list '(Sedation) Colonoscopy').Not comparableSamsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩290,000about £164 · €196 · C$306 · $219Optional test add-on: Abdominal CTCross-sectional images of liver, kidneys, pancreas and other solid organs. Contrast: not stated.Not comparableSamsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩200,000about £113 · €135 · C$211 · $151Optional test add-on: Low-Dose Chest CTLung cancer screening.Not comparableSamsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩185,000about £104 · €125 · C$195 · $140Optional test add-on: Coronary artery Ca CTCoronary calcification.Not comparableSamsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026
Samsung Medical CenterSeoul₩285,000about £161 · €192 · C$301 · $215Optional test add-on: EchocardiographyHeart structure and function.Not comparableSamsung Medical Centerread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Before you book. Package page has no validity date or 'prices for foreigners' wording; it is the English page for international patients. No JCI or other accreditation claim found on its English pages. Add-on prices are 'optional enhancements with a selected screening package', not stand-alone bookings.

Other hospitals and clinics in Seoul

Asan Medical Center

Seoul · University hospital, private service

  • Cancer care
  • Heart
  • Transplant
  • Check-ups

No booking time published: ask in writing

8 published pricesDetails

Listing is not a recommendation: we chose providers with an international patient service and their own published information, and we have not inspected any of them. Read what governments advise about treatment abroad and ask about accreditation.

Samsung Medical Center: questions

How do I book Samsung Medical Center as a foreign patient?

Online 'Request an Appointment' form, choose Consultation or Health Screening. Form takes about 10 minutes. Payment is in Korean won only (Mastercard, Visa, American Express, UnionPay). Outpatient exam costs (excluding consultation fee) must be paid before service; for inpatient care an estimate is given at the pre-admission consultation and 80% of the estimate is paid on admission day. IHC contact: +82-2-3410-0200, ihs.smc@samsung.com.

How long is the wait at Samsung Medical Center?

Samsung Medical Center does not publish how soon it can book you, but it says it replies to enquiries “It will take 3-5 business days to process your request.”. Ask the international office for a treatment date in writing before you book flights.

Is Samsung Medical Center accredited?

It does not name an international accreditation on the pages we read.

What is Samsung Medical Center known for?

Cancer care: Samsung Comprehensive Cancer Center with named centers: brain tumor, breast, colorectal, gastric, urologic, gynecologic, head and neck, hematologic, liver, lung and esophageal; proton center named on the billing page Heart: Heart Vascular Stroke Institute (menu link) Check-ups: Health Promotion Center, packages from 3 hours to 7-8 hours with MRI and PET-CT

Does Samsung Medical Center publish prices?

Yes, for health check-ups, cancer screening packages, MRI scans, colonoscopies, CT scans and heart check-ups. Each price on this page is copied from its own site with the date we read it.

Sources

  1. International patients. Samsung Medical Center. Read 27 October 2026.
  2. How to book as an international patient. Samsung Medical Center. Read 27 October 2026.
  3. About the hospital. Samsung Medical Center. Read 27 October 2026.
  4. Centres and specialties. Samsung Medical Center. Read 27 October 2026.
  5. Centres and specialties. Samsung Medical Center. Read 27 October 2026.
  6. Centres and specialties. Samsung Medical Center. Read 27 October 2026.
  7. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.