New: heart bypass and stent

Compare

Coronary stent · Poland

Coronary stent in Poland: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

Poland providers publish coronary stent procedures only inside bundles with other tests, so we show them but leave Poland out of the price comparison.

Published price
Bundles only, not comparable
Price is for
one angioplasty with stenting of a coronary artery (PCI), usually with the angiogram; the number of stents and nights differ, so each row says what it includes
Where
Kraków and Warsaw
Providers
2 (John Paul II Hospital, Kraków (public) and Szpital Medicover, Warsaw)
Soonest booking
Not published: ask in writing
NHS England wait
67.9% within 18 weeks (all cardiology) (August 2026)

Published coronary angioplasty with a stent prices in Poland

Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.

Coronary stent prices in Poland
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
John Paul II Hospital, Kraków (public)Kraków7,300 PLNabout £1,390 · €1,660 · C$2,600 · $1,860Koronaroplastyka 1 naczyniowa (bez kosztu stentu) [single-vessel coronary angioplasty, stent not included]Procedure fee without the stent; each drug-eluting stent 1,500 zł; several vessels 8,400 zł. The stay is billed per day on top. From 1 April 2026.Not comparableKrakowski Szpital Specjalistyczny im. św. Jana Pawła IIread 27 October 2026
Szpital Medicover, WarsawWarsaw15,900 PLNabout £3,030 · €3,620 · C$5,670 · $4,050Koronaroplastyka jednonaczyniowa z jednym stentem DES [single-vessel angioplasty with one drug-eluting stent]; two vessels with two stents 19,900 złOperation price; the price list says the stay, anaesthesia and materials are added on top. Not stated.Not comparableMedicoverread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Poznań's MSWiA hospital is a public hospital that also sells services to paying patients; its list is dated 1 January 2026. Private clinics in Warsaw publish similar or higher prices. Polish eye clinics charge a separate qualification visit before cataract surgery.

Compared with waiting or paying at home

The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Poland price converted to that currency. The Poland figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.

Waiting times and self-pay prices at home for coronary angioplasty with a stent
Where you liveOfficial waitPay at homeHere, converted
UK67.9% within 18 weeks (all cardiology)England, August 2026£12,450 to £14,900No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel
CanadaNo official figure foundNot verifiedNo comparable pricebefore flights and hotel
IrelandAbout 35% waiting over 6 months (all cardiology procedures)Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026Not verifiedNo comparable pricebefore flights and hotel
USNo national figureNot verifiedNo comparable pricebefore flights and hotel

Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Pick where you live to see the Poland price and how soon hospitals say they can see you, next to your wait and your price at home.

Open the calculator

How it works for a visitor

  1. Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the coronary angioplasty with a stent and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goSend your latest ECG, echocardiogram, any stress test or CT angiogram, and your medicine list; ask a cardiologist there to confirm in writing that a stent is the likely plan.
  3. Before you goGet a written quote that says how many stents are included and the price of each extra one.
  4. Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers a planned procedure abroad.
  5. LanguagePolish; private clinics in big cities often have English-speaking staff, public hospitals less often.
  6. Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  7. After you returnKeep taking the blood-thinning medicines exactly as prescribed; stopping them early can block the stent.
  8. After you returnBring the procedure report and the stent details (type and size) to your doctor at home.

Can your public system pay for it?

From England (NHS): the S2 route can fund planned treatment in an EU country, but only state healthcare with a public provider, never private treatment, and only with approval before you go. NHS England must also confirm it cannot treat you in a medically acceptable time. The private clinics on this page do not qualify. NHS: the S2 funding route.

From Ireland (HSE): Poland is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.

When not to travel for a coronary angioplasty with a stent

  • Chest pain at rest, pain that is getting worse, or a heart attack: that is an emergency at home.
  • Anyone who cannot take blood-thinning medicines for the months after a stent.

How to compare coronary angioplasty with a stent quotes

Coronary angioplasty (PCI) opens a narrowed heart artery from the inside: a thin tube goes in through the wrist or groin, a balloon widens the artery and a small metal mesh tube (a stent) keeps it open. It is usually done under local anaesthetic, often straight after an angiogram that shows where the narrowing is.

  • Check how many stents the price includes and what type (most are drug-eluting); each extra stent usually adds to the bill.
  • Ask whether the angiogram, the hospital nights and the medicines you take home are in the price.
  • Ask what happens if the angiogram shows you need bypass surgery instead.

Providers on this page

We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.

Related comparisons

Coronary stent in Poland: questions

How much does a coronary angioplasty with a stent cost in Poland?

John Paul II Hospital, Kraków (public) and Szpital Medicover, Warsaw publishes only bundles that include other tests, so there is no price for a coronary angioplasty with a stent on its own that compares with other countries.

Is a coronary angioplasty with a stent in Poland cheaper than paying privately in the UK?

We do not have both a UK price and a comparable Poland price for this, so we cannot say. Compare the published prices on this page with a written quote from a UK provider.

Will the NHS or HSE pay for a coronary angioplasty with a stent in Poland?

The NHS S2 route pays only for state treatment at a public provider in the EU, with approval before you travel, not for private clinics. From Ireland, the HSE Cross Border Directive scheme lets you claim back up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid.

How many days should I plan in Poland?

Often 1 to 2 nights in hospital, then a few days nearby before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.

What should I check before booking a coronary angioplasty with a stent in Poland?

Check how many stents the price includes and what type (most are drug-eluting); each extra stent usually adds to the bill. Ask whether the angiogram, the hospital nights and the medicines you take home are in the price.

Sources

  1. Aneks nr 631: cennik zabiegów kardiologii interwencyjnej [interventional cardiology price list]. Krakowski Szpital Specjalistyczny im. św. Jana Pawła II, 1 April 2026. Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Cennik [price list], Szpital Medicover. Medicover. Read 27 October 2026.
  3. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Cennik usług medycznych obowiązujący od 1.01.2026 (price list valid from 1 January 2026). Szpital MSWiA w Poznaniu (Ministry of Interior hospital, Poznań), 1 January 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  7. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.