Laser eye surgery · Spain
Laser eye surgery in Spain: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
We found 1 published price for laser eye surgery in Spain, from €1,050, or about £879 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £2,590 to £7,500 at the providers we checked.
- Published price
- €1,050about £879 · about €1,050 · about C$1,640 · about $1,180
- Price is for
- both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
- Where
- Madrid
- Providers
- 1 (Baviera (formerly Clínica Baviera))
- Soonest booking
- Not published: ask in writing
- NHS England wait
- No NHS figure for this
Published laser eye surgery prices in Spain
Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baviera (formerly Clínica Baviera)Madrid | €1,050about £879 · C$1,640 · $1,180 | Cirugía refractiva láser (miopía, hipermetropía, astigmatismo), price per eyePer eye. Included: pre-operative tests (visual acuity, refraction, anterior and posterior segment, eye pressure), surgeon consultation, laser treatment adapted to each patient, post-operative reviews until discharge, 24-hour emergency service, patient area access. Technique (LASIK/PRK/other) is not stated in the price box. Both-eye total is not shown; do not multiply on the site without saying so. Price shown with the 'Precio y financiación' text; no end date for the surgery price. The free first consultation (valued 120 EUR) promotion is stated valid until 31/12/2026.. | Baviera (formerly Clínica Baviera)read 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Hospitals in Spain that offer laser eye surgery to international patients
Each runs its own service for patients from abroad. The booking time on each card is the hospital's own words; where it publishes none, ask for a date in writing before you book flights.
Barraquer Ophthalmology Centre
- Eyes
No booking time published: ask in writing
Prices on requestDetails
Vithas Xanit International Hospital
- Cancer care
- Heart
- Eyes
- Fertility
No booking time published: ask in writing
Prices on requestDetails
Baviera (formerly Clínica Baviera)
- Eyes
No booking time published: ask in writing
2 published pricesDetails
Compared with waiting or paying at home
The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Spain price converted to that currency. The Spain figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.
| Where you live | Official wait | Pay at home | Here, converted |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | No official figure found | £2,590 to £7,500 | £879before flights and hotel |
| Canada | No official figure found | C$980 to C$6,180 | C$1,640before flights and hotel |
| Ireland | No official figure found | €2,990 to €4,200 | €1,050before flights and hotel |
| US | No national figure | $4,990 to $5,7902021 hospital data or a dental school | $1,180before flights and hotel |
Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Pick where you live to see the Spain price and how soon hospitals say they can see you, next to your wait and your price at home.
How it works for a visitor
- Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
- Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
- LanguageSpanish (and Catalan in Barcelona); international departments of private hospitals work in English.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.
Can your public system pay for it?
From England (NHS): the S2 route can fund planned treatment in an EU country, but only state healthcare with a public provider, never private treatment, and only with approval before you go. NHS England must also confirm it cannot treat you in a medically acceptable time. The private clinics on this page do not qualify. NHS: the S2 funding route.
From Ireland (HSE): Spain is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.
When not to travel for laser eye surgery
- A prescription that is still changing. Clinics usually want it stable before they operate.
- Dry eyes, thin corneas or an eye disease such as keratoconus, until the clinic has measured and assessed you.
- Anyone who cannot stay for the next-day check, or who needs to fly or drive straight after surgery.
How to compare laser eye surgery quotes
Laser eye surgery reshapes the clear front surface of the eye (the cornea) to correct short sight, long sight or astigmatism, so you depend less on glasses or contact lenses. LASIK and SMILE work under a thin flap or through a small cut; PRK and LASEK treat the surface, which takes longer to heal. The NHS does not usually offer it, so at home it is a private purchase. Not everyone is suitable: the clinic measures your eyes first, and some clinics charge for that visit.
- Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price.
- Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
- Ask whether the suitability tests are free, charged, or deducted from the operation price.
- Ask what aftercare is included, for how long, and whether a second treatment (enhancement) is covered if your sight is not fully corrected.
Providers on this page
We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.
- Baviera (formerly Clínica Baviera), Madrid: €1,050
Related comparisons
- Laser eye surgery abroad: all 9 countries compared
- Laser eye surgery in Mexico
- Laser eye surgery in Turkey
- Laser eye surgery in Poland
- Laser eye surgery in Hungary
- Laser eye surgery in Lithuania
- Laser eye surgery in Japan
- Laser eye surgery in Thailand
- Laser eye surgery in Malaysia
- Cataract surgery in Spain
- IVF in Spain
- Treatment in Spain: every procedure
- Wait or Fly home: the calculator
Laser eye surgery in Spain: questions
How much does laser eye surgery cost in Spain?
The published prices we found range from €1,050, about £879 or $1,180. They come from Baviera (formerly Clínica Baviera). Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.
Is laser eye surgery in Spain cheaper than paying privately in the UK?
Before travel, the prices here work out at about £879, against about £2,590 to £7,500 at the UK providers we checked. Travel adds a flight and a hotel on top; the calculator on the home page adds a rough estimate.
Will the NHS or HSE pay for laser eye surgery in Spain?
The NHS S2 route pays only for state treatment at a public provider in the EU, with approval before you travel, not for private clinics. From Ireland, the HSE Cross Border Directive scheme lets you claim back up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid.
How many days should I plan in Spain?
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.
What should I check before booking laser eye surgery in Spain?
Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price. Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
Sources
- Prices. Baviera (formerly Clínica Baviera). Read 27 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.