Laser eye surgery · Malaysia
Laser eye surgery in Malaysia: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
Malaysia providers publish laser eye operations only inside bundles with other tests, so we show them but leave Malaysia out of the price comparison.
- Published price
- Bundles only, not comparable
- Price is for
- both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
- Where
- Kuala Lumpur
- Providers
- 1 (Prince Court Medical Centre)
- Soonest booking
- “Start planning at least three months ahead, considering travel bookings and treatment scheduling.”Prince Court Medical Centre
- NHS England wait
- No NHS figure for this
Published laser eye surgery prices in Malaysia
Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prince Court Medical CentreKuala Lumpur | From 3,700 MYRabout £677 · €809 · C$1,270 · $906 | Lasik, start fromNot stated whether per eye or both eyes Not stated.Not comparable | Prince Court Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Hospitals in Malaysia that offer laser eye surgery to international patients
Each runs its own service for patients from abroad. The booking time on each card is the hospital's own words; where it publishes none, ask for a date in writing before you book flights.
Prince Court Medical Centre
- Orthopaedics
- Check-ups
Booking: “Start planning at least three months ahead, considering travel bookings and treatment scheduling.”
11 published pricesDetails
Compared with waiting or paying at home
The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Malaysia price converted to that currency. The Malaysia figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.
| Where you live | Official wait | Pay at home | Here, converted |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | No official figure found | £2,590 to £7,500 | No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel |
| Canada | No official figure found | C$980 to C$6,180 | No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel |
| Ireland | No official figure found | €2,990 to €4,200 | No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel |
| US | No national figure | $4,990 to $5,7902021 hospital data or a dental school | No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel |
Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Pick where you live to see the Malaysia price and how soon hospitals say they can see you, next to your wait and your price at home.
How it works for a visitor
- Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
- Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
- LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.
Can your public system pay for it?
NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Malaysia. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Malaysia is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.
When not to travel for laser eye surgery
- A prescription that is still changing. Clinics usually want it stable before they operate.
- Dry eyes, thin corneas or an eye disease such as keratoconus, until the clinic has measured and assessed you.
- Anyone who cannot stay for the next-day check, or who needs to fly or drive straight after surgery.
How to compare laser eye surgery quotes
Laser eye surgery reshapes the clear front surface of the eye (the cornea) to correct short sight, long sight or astigmatism, so you depend less on glasses or contact lenses. LASIK and SMILE work under a thin flap or through a small cut; PRK and LASEK treat the surface, which takes longer to heal. The NHS does not usually offer it, so at home it is a private purchase. Not everyone is suitable: the clinic measures your eyes first, and some clinics charge for that visit.
- Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price.
- Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
- Ask whether the suitability tests are free, charged, or deducted from the operation price.
- Ask what aftercare is included, for how long, and whether a second treatment (enhancement) is covered if your sight is not fully corrected.
Providers on this page
We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.
- Prince Court Medical Centre, Kuala Lumpur: From 3,700 MYR
Related comparisons
- Laser eye surgery abroad: all 9 countries compared
- Laser eye surgery in Mexico
- Laser eye surgery in Turkey
- Laser eye surgery in Poland
- Laser eye surgery in Hungary
- Laser eye surgery in Lithuania
- Laser eye surgery in Spain
- Laser eye surgery in Japan
- Laser eye surgery in Thailand
- Colonoscopy in Malaysia
- Gastroscopy in Malaysia
- Health check-up in Malaysia
- Heart check-up in Malaysia
- Cancer screening in Malaysia
- Cataract surgery in Malaysia
- Knee replacement in Malaysia
- IVF in Malaysia
- Treatment in Malaysia: every procedure
- Wait or Fly home: the calculator
Laser eye surgery in Malaysia: questions
How much does laser eye surgery cost in Malaysia?
Prince Court Medical Centre publishes only bundles that include other tests, so there is no price for laser eye surgery on its own that compares with other countries.
Is laser eye surgery in Malaysia cheaper than paying privately in the UK?
We do not have both a UK price and a comparable Malaysia price for this, so we cannot say. Compare the published prices on this page with a written quote from a UK provider.
Will the NHS or HSE pay for laser eye surgery in Malaysia?
No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. Malaysia is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.
How many days should I plan in Malaysia?
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.
What should I check before booking laser eye surgery in Malaysia?
Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price. Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
Sources
- About the hospital. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- International patients. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.