New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From Canada · Cataract surgery · United Arab Emirates

Cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates from Canada: what the trip costs against the wait at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Canadians, cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates costs C$7,810 at the clinic we checked, or about C$9,870 with a rough travel estimate added.

Clinic price
C$7,8101 provider, one eye, standard
With travel
C$9,870clinic C$7,810 + about C$2,060 travel (rough estimate)
Pay privately in Canada
Not verified
Wait in Canada
Median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 days (2025)
Cover in Canada
Provincial plans pay for cataract surgery with a standard lens; it is one of the priority procedures whose waits CIHI publishes.
Soonest booking there
Not published: ask in writing
Rank from Canada
8 of 8 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in CAD

Trip total C$9,870

Lowest published clinic price and a rough travel estimate from Canada (return flight and hotel). The travel part is an estimate, not a quote.

Figure 2Cataract surgery: cheapest trip from Canada, by country

Total trip in CAD: lowest to highest published price plus the same rough travel estimate. Click a country for its page for Canadians.

How soon hospitals in United Arab Emirates can see you

At home the official figure is median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 days. These hospitals run a service for international patients; the booking time is each one's own words.

Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi · PrivateJCI

  • Heart
  • Cancer care
  • Neurology
  • Transplant

No booking time published: ask in writing

Estimated prices for 2 treatmentsDetails

Published cataract surgery prices in United Arab Emirates

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

Cataract surgery prices in United Arab Emirates
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)DubaiAED 20,489.31about £4,170 · €4,980 · C$7,810 · $5,580Cataract removal with insertion of IOL (regular), outpatient package'Gross price 35,179.46 AED'. The page does not say per eye or both eyes; monofocal not stated ('regular').Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)read 27 October 2026
Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)DubaiAED 23,676.62about £4,820 · €5,760 · C$9,020 · $6,450Cataract removal with IOL (multifocal)'Gross price 36,479.46 AED'; per eye not statedNot comparableMediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)read 27 October 2026
Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)DubaiAED 22,613.94about £4,610 · €5,500 · C$8,620 · $6,160Cataract removal with IOL (toric)'Gross price 36,479.46 AED'; per eye not statedNot comparableMediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)read 27 October 2026
Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)DubaiAED 25,489.31about £5,190 · €6,200 · C$9,710 · $6,940Cataract removal (femto) with IOL (regular)'Gross price 28,879.46 AED'; femtosecond; per eye not statedNot comparableMediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)read 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Against waiting or paying in Canada

Canada (national), 2025: Median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 days. Days from the decision to operate to cataract surgery: median and 90th percentile; 69.7% were treated within the national benchmark. Waits and prices for cataract surgery in Canada.

Can your provincial plan pay?

Ask your provincial health plan before you book. We have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad yet, and they differ by province.

Planning the trip from Canada

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for cataract surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goAsk your optician or eye doctor for your latest prescription and any eye reports.
  3. Before you goPlan for the clinic's rules on flying after surgery, and bring someone with you if you can.
  4. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca).
  5. LanguageArabic; English is the everyday language of private hospitals.
  6. After you returnYou will use eye drops for several weeks. Tell your optician you had surgery abroad and bring the operation note with the lens details.
  7. After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or flashing lights after surgery need urgent care at home.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Compare United Arab Emirates with every other country for cataract surgery from Canada: price, how soon, and the hospitals.

Open the calculator

Related pages

Cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates from Canada: questions

How much is cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates for Canadians?

The published prices we found work out at C$7,810 at the clinic, from Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai). Adding a rough travel estimate of C$2,060 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about C$9,870. Your own fares and dates will change that part.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in Canada?

We have not verified a self-pay price in Canada for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.

How long is the wait for cataract surgery in Canada?

Canada (national): Median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 days (2025). Days from the decision to operate to cataract surgery: median and 90th percentile; 69.7% were treated within the national benchmark.

How many days do I need in United Arab Emirates?

3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will my provincial plan pay for it?

Ask your provincial health plan before booking; we have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad.

Sources

  1. Prices. Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai). Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Wait times for priority procedures in Canada, 2008 to 2025: data tables. Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI), 25 June 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.