From US · Cataract surgery · United Arab Emirates
Cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates from the US: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Americans, cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates costs $5,580 at the clinic we checked, or about $7,120 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about $3,440 more than the lowest self-pay price we found in the US ($3,680).
- Clinic price
- $5,5801 provider, one eye, standard
- With travel
- $7,120clinic $5,580 + about $1,540 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in US
- $3,680
- Wait in US
- No national waiting list
- Cover in US
- Medicare Part B covers cataract surgery; you pay 20% after the deductible.
- Soonest booking there
- Not published: ask in writing
- Rank from US
- 8 of 8 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in USD
Trip total $7,120$3,440 over home
Figure 2Cataract surgery: cheapest trip from the US, by country
Hospitals in United Arab Emirates that offer cataract surgery
These hospitals run a service for international patients and offer cataract surgery. Open one for how to book and what it publishes.
Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi
- Heart
- Cancer care
- Neurology
- Transplant
No booking time published: ask in writing
Estimated prices for 2 treatmentsDetails
Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)
- Cancer care
- Orthopaedics
- Heart
- Fertility
No booking time published: ask in writing
17 published pricesDetails
Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai (and Abu Dhabi)
- Eyes
No booking time published: ask in writing
Estimated prices for 2 treatmentsDetails
Published cataract surgery prices in United Arab Emirates
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)Dubai | AED 20,489.31about £4,170 · €4,980 · C$7,810 · $5,580 | Cataract removal with insertion of IOL (regular), outpatient package'Gross price 35,179.46 AED'. The page does not say per eye or both eyes; monofocal not stated ('regular'). | Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)read 27 October 2026 |
| Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)Dubai | AED 23,676.62about £4,820 · €5,760 · C$9,020 · $6,450 | Cataract removal with IOL (multifocal)'Gross price 36,479.46 AED'; per eye not statedNot comparable | Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)read 27 October 2026 |
| Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)Dubai | AED 22,613.94about £4,610 · €5,500 · C$8,620 · $6,160 | Cataract removal with IOL (toric)'Gross price 36,479.46 AED'; per eye not statedNot comparable | Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)read 27 October 2026 |
| Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)Dubai | AED 25,489.31about £5,190 · €6,200 · C$9,710 · $6,940 | Cataract removal (femto) with IOL (regular)'Gross price 28,879.46 AED'; femtosecond; per eye not statedNot comparable | Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai)read 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Against waiting or paying in the US
The US has no national public waiting list; what matters is the price your insurer or the hospital charges.
Paying privately in the US: $3,680, from Hospital cash prices (JAMA Network Open study). These are 2021 hospital cash-price medians or a dental school estimate, so today’s prices are probably higher.
Can your insurer pay?
Ask your insurer before you book. Plans rarely pay for planned treatment abroad unless they have agreed in writing first.
Planning the trip from the US
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for cataract surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk your optician or eye doctor for your latest prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goPlan for the clinic's rules on flying after surgery, and bring someone with you if you can.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: US citizens (State Department, choose the country).
- LanguageArabic; English is the everyday language of private hospitals.
- After you returnYou will use eye drops for several weeks. Tell your optician you had surgery abroad and bring the operation note with the lens details.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or flashing lights after surgery need urgent care at home.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare United Arab Emirates with every other country for cataract surgery from the US: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
- Cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates: every price line and how to book
- Cataract surgery abroad: price report for all countries
- Treatment in United Arab Emirates: every procedure
- Cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates from the UK
- Cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates from Canada
- Cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates from Ireland
Cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates from the US: questions
How much is cataract surgery in United Arab Emirates for Americans?
The published prices we found work out at $5,580 at the clinic, from Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai). Adding a rough travel estimate of $1,540 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about $7,120. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in the US?
No, not on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is $3,680, about $3,440 less than the cheapest trip. It can make sense if you are already travelling to United Arab Emirates.
How long is the wait for cataract surgery in the US?
There is no national public waiting list in the US; the question is usually the price your insurer pays.
How many days do I need in United Arab Emirates?
3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my insurer pay for it?
Ask your insurer before booking. Most plans pay little or nothing for planned treatment abroad unless they agree in advance.
Sources
- Prices. Mediclinic City Hospital (Dubai). Read 27 October 2026.
- Price transparency in hospitals: cash prices for common services (Jiang, Makary, Bai), JAMA Network Open. JAMA Network Open, via PubMed Central, 21 December 2021. Read 26 October 2026.
- Cataract surgery. Medicare.gov. Read 27 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.