From Canada · Cataract surgery · Malaysia
Cataract surgery in Malaysia from Canada: what the trip costs against the wait at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Canadians, cataract surgery in Malaysia costs C$2,570–C$2,740 at the clinics we checked, or about C$4,830 with a rough travel estimate added.
- Clinic price
- C$2,570–C$2,7402 providers, one eye, standard
- With travel
- C$4,830clinic C$2,570 + about C$2,260 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in Canada
- Not verified
- Wait in Canada
- Median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 days (2025)
- Cover in Canada
- Provincial plans pay for cataract surgery with a standard lens; it is one of the priority procedures whose waits CIHI publishes.
- Soonest booking there
- “Please email or WhatsApp us at least 1 week in advance.”Gleneagles Hospital Penang
- Rank from Canada
- 6 of 7 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in CAD
Trip total C$4,830
Figure 2Cataract surgery: cheapest trip from Canada, by country
How soon hospitals in Malaysia can see you
At home the official figure is median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 days. These hospitals run a service for international patients; the booking time is each one's own words.
Gleneagles Hospital Penang
- Orthopaedics
- Eyes
- Digestive
- Cancer care
Booking: “Please email or WhatsApp us at least 1 week in advance.”
4 published pricesDetails
Prince Court Medical Centre
- Orthopaedics
- Check-ups
Booking: “Start planning at least three months ahead, considering travel bookings and treatment scheduling.”
11 published pricesDetails
Published cataract surgery prices in Malaysia
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gleneagles Hospital PenangPenang | 8,000 MYRabout £1,460 · €1,750 · C$2,740 · $1,960 | Cataract Surgery (approximately)Not stated; hospital says the total may be more or less depending on condition, technique and drugs Not stated. | Gleneagles Hospital Penangread 27 October 2026 |
| Prince Court Medical CentreKuala Lumpur | From 7,500 MYRabout £1,370 · €1,640 · C$2,570 · $1,840 | Cataract Surgery, start fromNot stated Not stated. | Prince Court Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Against waiting or paying in Canada
Canada (national), 2025: Median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 days. Days from the decision to operate to cataract surgery: median and 90th percentile; 69.7% were treated within the national benchmark. Waits and prices for cataract surgery in Canada.
Can your provincial plan pay?
Ask your provincial health plan before you book. We have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad yet, and they differ by province.
Planning the trip from Canada
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for cataract surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk your optician or eye doctor for your latest prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goPlan for the clinic's rules on flying after surgery, and bring someone with you if you can.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca).
- LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
- After you returnYou will use eye drops for several weeks. Tell your optician you had surgery abroad and bring the operation note with the lens details.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or flashing lights after surgery need urgent care at home.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare Malaysia with every other country for cataract surgery from Canada: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
Cataract surgery in Malaysia from Canada: questions
How much is cataract surgery in Malaysia for Canadians?
The published prices we found work out at C$2,570–C$2,740 at the clinic, from Gleneagles Hospital Penang and Prince Court Medical Centre. Adding a rough travel estimate of C$2,260 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about C$4,830. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in Canada?
We have not verified a self-pay price in Canada for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.
How long is the wait for cataract surgery in Canada?
Canada (national): Median 66 days; 1 in 10 waited over 222 days (2025). Days from the decision to operate to cataract surgery: median and 90th percentile; 69.7% were treated within the national benchmark.
How many days do I need in Malaysia?
3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my provincial plan pay for it?
Ask your provincial health plan before booking; we have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad.
Sources
- International patients. Gleneagles Hospital Penang. Read 27 October 2026.
- About the hospital. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Wait times for priority procedures in Canada, 2008 to 2025: data tables. Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI), 25 June 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- International patients. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.