New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From Canada · CT scan · Hungary

CT scan in Hungary from Canada: what the trip costs against the wait at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Canadians, a CT scan in Hungary costs C$128–C$214 at the clinic we checked, or about C$1,570 with a rough travel estimate added.

Clinic price
C$128–C$2141 provider, one CT scan of one body area
With travel
C$1,570clinic C$128 + about C$1,440 travel (rough estimate)
Pay privately in Canada
Not verified
Wait in Canada
Median 14.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 144 days (2025)
Cover in Canada
Provincial plans pay for a CT scan a doctor orders; provinces report the waits to CIHI.
Soonest booking there
“We can make appointments for diagnostic imaging tests within 24 hours.”Wáberer Medical Center (Budapest)
Rank from Canada
1 of 3 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in CAD

Trip total C$1,570

Lowest published clinic price and a rough travel estimate from Canada (return flight and hotel). The travel part is an estimate, not a quote.

Figure 2CT scan: cheapest trip from Canada, by country

Total trip in CAD: lowest to highest published price plus the same rough travel estimate. Click a country for its page for Canadians.

How soon hospitals in Hungary can see you

At home the official figure is median 14.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 144 days. These hospitals run a service for international patients; the booking time is each one's own words.

Published CT scan prices in Hungary

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

CT scan prices in Hungary
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)Budapest30,000 HUFabout £68 · €82 · C$128 · $92Agykoponya CT vizsgálat kontrasztanyag nélkül (natív) [head CT, without contrast]Not stated on this price page (the 'prices are indicative / exclusions' notice appears on some Semmelweis Premium price pages, not on this one) Indicative; no validity date on page.Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)read 27 October 2026
Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)Budapest30,000 HUFabout £68 · €82 · C$128 · $92Mellkas CT vizsgálat kontrasztanyag nélkül (natív) [chest CT, without contrast]Not stated on this price page (the 'prices are indicative / exclusions' notice appears on some Semmelweis Premium price pages, not on this one) Indicative; no validity date on page.Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)read 27 October 2026
Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)Budapest50,000 HUFabout £114 · €136 · C$214 · $153Has és kismedence CT vizsgálat kontrasztanyag nélkül (natív) [abdomen and pelvis CT, without contrast]Not stated on this price page (the 'prices are indicative / exclusions' notice appears on some Semmelweis Premium price pages, not on this one) Indicative; no validity date on page.Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)read 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Budapest clinics publish prices in forints. The Buda Eye Centre lets patients pay in euros at the National Bank of Hungary rate and runs a Fast Track programme for patients from abroad (price list, in Hungarian).

MRI: a Hungarian business paper reported in February 2026 that private providers have not been allowed to perform MRI or CT scans since 1 November 2025 and that the state bought their machines (Economx, in Hungarian). Wáberer Medical Center still listed MRI prices when we read its page on 26 October 2026. Ask the clinic in writing whether it can book your scan before you buy a flight. We have not read the legal text.

Against waiting or paying in Canada

Canada (national), 2025: Median 14.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 144 days. Days from the decision to scan to the CT scan: median, and the wait that 1 in 10 people exceeded (April to September 2025). Waits and prices for a CT scan in Canada.

Can your provincial plan pay?

Ask your provincial health plan before you book. We have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad yet, and they differ by province.

Planning the trip from Canada

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for a CT scan and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goTake your referral letter, or the question your doctor wants the scan to answer.
  3. Before you goTell the clinic in advance about kidney problems, diabetes medicines or an allergy to contrast dye.
  4. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca).
  5. LanguageHungarian; Budapest private clinics usually have English pages and staff.
  6. After you returnGive your doctor the report and the DICOM images.
  7. After you returnIf the scan finds something, the follow-up normally happens at home.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Compare Hungary with every other country for a CT scan from Canada: price, how soon, and the hospitals.

Open the calculator

Related pages

CT scan in Hungary from Canada: questions

How much is a CT scan in Hungary for Canadians?

The published prices we found work out at C$128–C$214 at the clinic, from Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University). Adding a rough travel estimate of C$1,440 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about C$1,570. Your own fares and dates will change that part.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in Canada?

We have not verified a self-pay price in Canada for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.

How long is the wait for a CT scan in Canada?

Canada (national): Median 14.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 144 days (2025). Days from the decision to scan to the CT scan: median, and the wait that 1 in 10 people exceeded (April to September 2025).

How many days do I need in Hungary?

1 day for the scan and the report. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will my provincial plan pay for it?

Ask your provincial health plan before booking; we have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad.

Sources

  1. Prices. Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University). Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Wait times for priority procedures in Canada, 2008 to 2025: data tables. Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI), 25 June 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Árlista (price list). Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre), Budapest. Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Minden MR- és CT-gépet megvett az állam. Economx (Hungarian business news), 4 February 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Prices. Wáberer Medical Center, Budapest. Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Accreditation. Wáberer Medical Center (Budapest). Read 27 October 2026.
  7. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.