From Ireland · CT scan · Hungary
CT scan in Hungary from Ireland: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Irish patients, a CT scan in Hungary costs €82–€136 at the clinic we checked, or about €352 with a rough travel estimate added.
- Clinic price
- €82–€1361 provider, one CT scan of one body area
- With travel
- €352clinic €82 + about €270 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in Ireland
- Not verified
- Wait in Ireland
- No official figure found
- Cover in Ireland
- Not reviewed yet
- Soonest booking there
- “We can make appointments for diagnostic imaging tests within 24 hours.”Wáberer Medical Center (Budapest)
- Rank from Ireland
- 1 of 3 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in EUR
Trip total €352
Figure 2CT scan: cheapest trip from Ireland, by country
Hospitals in Hungary that offer a CT scan
These hospitals run a service for international patients and offer a CT scan. Open one for how to book and what it publishes.
Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)
- Imaging
No booking time published: ask in writing
25 published pricesDetails
Wáberer Medical Center (Budapest)
- Imaging
- Check-ups
- Orthopaedics
Booking: “We can make appointments for diagnostic imaging tests within 24 hours.”
3 published pricesDetails
Published CT scan prices in Hungary
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)Budapest | 30,000 HUFabout £68 · €82 · C$128 · $92 | Agykoponya CT vizsgálat kontrasztanyag nélkül (natív) [head CT, without contrast]Not stated on this price page (the 'prices are indicative / exclusions' notice appears on some Semmelweis Premium price pages, not on this one) Indicative; no validity date on page. | Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)read 27 October 2026 |
| Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)Budapest | 30,000 HUFabout £68 · €82 · C$128 · $92 | Mellkas CT vizsgálat kontrasztanyag nélkül (natív) [chest CT, without contrast]Not stated on this price page (the 'prices are indicative / exclusions' notice appears on some Semmelweis Premium price pages, not on this one) Indicative; no validity date on page. | Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)read 27 October 2026 |
| Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)Budapest | 50,000 HUFabout £114 · €136 · C$214 · $153 | Has és kismedence CT vizsgálat kontrasztanyag nélkül (natív) [abdomen and pelvis CT, without contrast]Not stated on this price page (the 'prices are indicative / exclusions' notice appears on some Semmelweis Premium price pages, not on this one) Indicative; no validity date on page. | Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University)read 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Budapest clinics publish prices in forints. The Buda Eye Centre lets patients pay in euros at the National Bank of Hungary rate and runs a Fast Track programme for patients from abroad (price list, in Hungarian).
MRI: a Hungarian business paper reported in February 2026 that private providers have not been allowed to perform MRI or CT scans since 1 November 2025 and that the state bought their machines (Economx, in Hungarian). Wáberer Medical Center still listed MRI prices when we read its page on 26 October 2026. Ask the clinic in writing whether it can book your scan before you buy a flight. We have not read the legal text.
Against waiting or paying in Ireland
We have not found an official waiting-time figure for a CT scan in Ireland.
Can the HSE pay?
From Ireland (HSE): Hungary is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.
Planning the trip from Ireland
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for a CT scan and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goTake your referral letter, or the question your doctor wants the scan to answer.
- Before you goTell the clinic in advance about kidney problems, diabetes medicines or an allergy to contrast dye.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- LanguageHungarian; Budapest private clinics usually have English pages and staff.
- After you returnGive your doctor the report and the DICOM images.
- After you returnIf the scan finds something, the follow-up normally happens at home.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare Hungary with every other country for a CT scan from Ireland: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
CT scan in Hungary from Ireland: questions
How much is a CT scan in Hungary for Irish patients?
The published prices we found work out at €82–€136 at the clinic, from Semmelweis Premium (Semmelweis University). Adding a rough travel estimate of €270 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about €352. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in Ireland?
We have not verified a self-pay price in Ireland for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.
How long is the wait for a CT scan in Ireland?
We have not found an official waiting-time figure for this in Ireland.
How many days do I need in Hungary?
1 day for the scan and the report. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will the HSE pay for it?
Possibly in part: the Cross Border Directive scheme refunds up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid and with a referral.
Sources
- Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Árlista (price list). Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre), Budapest. Read 26 October 2026.
- Minden MR- és CT-gépet megvett az állam. Economx (Hungarian business news), 4 February 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Prices. Wáberer Medical Center, Budapest. Read 26 October 2026.
- Accreditation. Wáberer Medical Center (Budapest). Read 27 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.