New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From US · Cataract surgery · Malaysia

Cataract surgery in Malaysia from the US: what the trip costs against paying at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Americans, cataract surgery in Malaysia costs $1,840–$1,960 at the clinics we checked, or about $3,580 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about $102 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in the US ($3,680).

Clinic price
$1,840–$1,9602 providers, one eye, standard
With travel
$3,580clinic $1,840 + about $1,740 travel (rough estimate)
Pay privately in US
$3,680
Wait in US
No national waiting list
Cover in US
Medicare Part B covers cataract surgery; you pay 20% after the deductible.
Soonest booking there
“Please email or WhatsApp us at least 1 week in advance.”Gleneagles Hospital Penang
Rank from US
6 of 7 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in USD

Trip total $3,580$102 under home

Lowest published clinic price and a rough travel estimate from the US (return flight and hotel); the amber line is the lowest self-pay price at home. The travel part is an estimate, not a quote.

Figure 2Cataract surgery: cheapest trip from the US, by country

Total trip in USD: lowest to highest published price plus the same rough travel estimate. The dashed line is the lowest self-pay price at home. Click a country for its page for Americans.

Hospitals in Malaysia that offer cataract surgery

These hospitals run a service for international patients and offer cataract surgery. Open one for how to book and what it publishes.

Gleneagles Hospital Penang

Penang · PrivateJCI

  • Orthopaedics
  • Eyes
  • Digestive
  • Cancer care

Booking: “Please email or WhatsApp us at least 1 week in advance.”

4 published pricesDetails

Prince Court Medical Centre

Kuala Lumpur · Private

  • Orthopaedics
  • Check-ups

Booking: “Start planning at least three months ahead, considering travel bookings and treatment scheduling.”

11 published pricesDetails

Published cataract surgery prices in Malaysia

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

Cataract surgery prices in Malaysia
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Gleneagles Hospital PenangPenang8,000 MYRabout £1,460 · €1,750 · C$2,740 · $1,960Cataract Surgery (approximately)Not stated; hospital says the total may be more or less depending on condition, technique and drugs Not stated.Gleneagles Hospital Penangread 27 October 2026
Prince Court Medical CentreKuala LumpurFrom 7,500 MYRabout £1,370 · €1,640 · C$2,570 · $1,840Cataract Surgery, start fromNot stated Not stated.Prince Court Medical Centreread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Against waiting or paying in the US

The US has no national public waiting list; what matters is the price your insurer or the hospital charges.

Paying privately in the US: $3,680, from Hospital cash prices (JAMA Network Open study). These are 2021 hospital cash-price medians or a dental school estimate, so today’s prices are probably higher.

Can your insurer pay?

Ask your insurer before you book. Plans rarely pay for planned treatment abroad unless they have agreed in writing first.

Planning the trip from the US

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for cataract surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goAsk your optician or eye doctor for your latest prescription and any eye reports.
  3. Before you goPlan for the clinic's rules on flying after surgery, and bring someone with you if you can.
  4. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: US citizens (State Department, choose the country).
  5. LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
  6. After you returnYou will use eye drops for several weeks. Tell your optician you had surgery abroad and bring the operation note with the lens details.
  7. After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or flashing lights after surgery need urgent care at home.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Compare Malaysia with every other country for cataract surgery from the US: price, how soon, and the hospitals.

Open the calculator

Related pages

Cataract surgery in Malaysia from the US: questions

How much is cataract surgery in Malaysia for Americans?

The published prices we found work out at $1,840–$1,960 at the clinic, from Gleneagles Hospital Penang and Prince Court Medical Centre. Adding a rough travel estimate of $1,740 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about $3,580. Your own fares and dates will change that part.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in the US?

Yes, by about $102 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is $3,680. The gap shrinks if your travel costs more than our estimate.

How long is the wait for cataract surgery in the US?

There is no national public waiting list in the US; the question is usually the price your insurer pays.

How many days do I need in Malaysia?

3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will my insurer pay for it?

Ask your insurer before booking. Most plans pay little or nothing for planned treatment abroad unless they agree in advance.

Sources

  1. International patients. Gleneagles Hospital Penang. Read 27 October 2026.
  2. About the hospital. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  3. Price transparency in hospitals: cash prices for common services (Jiang, Makary, Bai), JAMA Network Open. JAMA Network Open, via PubMed Central, 21 December 2021. Read 26 October 2026.
  4. International patients. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  5. Cataract surgery. Medicare.gov. Read 27 October 2026.
  6. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.