From Ireland · Cataract surgery · Malaysia
Cataract surgery in Malaysia from Ireland: what the trip costs against the wait at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Irish patients, cataract surgery in Malaysia costs €1,640–€1,750 at the clinics we checked, or about €2,850 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about €345 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in Ireland (€3,200).
- Clinic price
- €1,640–€1,7502 providers, one eye, standard
- With travel
- €2,850clinic €1,640 + about €1,210 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in Ireland
- €3,200
- Wait in Ireland
- About 42% waiting over 6 months (all eye surgery) (24 September 2026)
- Cover in Ireland
- Public hospitals do cataract surgery, and the NTPF can arrange treatment elsewhere for public patients who have waited a long time.
- Soonest booking there
- “Please email or WhatsApp us at least 1 week in advance.”Gleneagles Hospital Penang
- Rank from Ireland
- 6 of 7 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in EUR
Trip total €2,850€345 under home
Figure 2Cataract surgery: cheapest trip from Ireland, by country
How soon hospitals in Malaysia can see you
At home the official figure is about 42% waiting over 6 months (all eye surgery). These hospitals run a service for international patients; the booking time is each one's own words.
Gleneagles Hospital Penang
- Orthopaedics
- Eyes
- Digestive
- Cancer care
Booking: “Please email or WhatsApp us at least 1 week in advance.”
4 published pricesDetails
Prince Court Medical Centre
- Orthopaedics
- Check-ups
Booking: “Start planning at least three months ahead, considering travel bookings and treatment scheduling.”
11 published pricesDetails
Published cataract surgery prices in Malaysia
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gleneagles Hospital PenangPenang | 8,000 MYRabout £1,460 · €1,750 · C$2,740 · $1,960 | Cataract Surgery (approximately)Not stated; hospital says the total may be more or less depending on condition, technique and drugs Not stated. | Gleneagles Hospital Penangread 27 October 2026 |
| Prince Court Medical CentreKuala Lumpur | From 7,500 MYRabout £1,370 · €1,640 · C$2,570 · $1,840 | Cataract Surgery, start fromNot stated Not stated. | Prince Court Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Against waiting or paying in Ireland
Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026: About 42% waiting over 6 months (all eye surgery). Ophthalmology as a whole, not cataract alone: 14,382 adults on the inpatient/day-case list, about 42% waiting over 6 months; another 41,898 waiting for a first outpatient appointment. Waits and prices for cataract surgery in Ireland.
Paying privately in Ireland: €3,200, from Optical Express Ireland.
Can the HSE pay?
NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Malaysia. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Malaysia is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.
Planning the trip from Ireland
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for cataract surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk your optician or eye doctor for your latest prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goPlan for the clinic's rules on flying after surgery, and bring someone with you if you can.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
- After you returnYou will use eye drops for several weeks. Tell your optician you had surgery abroad and bring the operation note with the lens details.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or flashing lights after surgery need urgent care at home.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare Malaysia with every other country for cataract surgery from Ireland: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
Cataract surgery in Malaysia from Ireland: questions
How much is cataract surgery in Malaysia for Irish patients?
The published prices we found work out at €1,640–€1,750 at the clinic, from Gleneagles Hospital Penang and Prince Court Medical Centre. Adding a rough travel estimate of €1,210 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about €2,850. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in Ireland?
Yes, by about €345 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is €3,200. The gap shrinks if your travel costs more than our estimate.
How long is the wait for cataract surgery in Ireland?
Ireland (public hospitals): About 42% waiting over 6 months (all eye surgery) (24 September 2026). Ophthalmology as a whole, not cataract alone: 14,382 adults on the inpatient/day-case list, about 42% waiting over 6 months; another 41,898 waiting for a first outpatient appointment.
How many days do I need in Malaysia?
3 to 5 days: assessment, the operation, and a check-up the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will the HSE pay for it?
No. HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland; Malaysia is outside them.
Sources
- International patients. Gleneagles Hospital Penang. Read 27 October 2026.
- About the hospital. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Cataract surgery. Optical Express (Ireland). Read 26 October 2026.
- Open data: inpatient/day case waiting list by specialty, 2026. National Treatment Purchase Fund (NTPF), October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- International patients. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Options while on a waiting list. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 27 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.