From Canada · Coronary stent · Malaysia
Coronary stent in Malaysia from Canada: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Canadians, a coronary angioplasty with a stent in Malaysia costs C$6,810–C$11,670 at the clinics we checked, or about C$9,210 with a rough travel estimate added.
- Clinic price
- C$6,810–C$11,6705 providers, one angioplasty with stenting of a coronary artery
- With travel
- C$9,210clinic C$6,810 + about C$2,400 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in Canada
- Not verified
- Wait in Canada
- No official figure found
- Cover in Canada
- Not reviewed yet
- Soonest booking there
- “Please email or WhatsApp us at least 1 week in advance.”Gleneagles Hospital Penang
- Rank from Canada
- 2 of 3 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in CAD
Trip total C$9,210
Figure 2Coronary stent: cheapest trip from Canada, by country
Hospitals in Malaysia that offer a coronary angioplasty with a stent
These hospitals run a service for international patients and offer a coronary angioplasty with a stent. Open one for how to book and what it publishes.
Gleneagles Hospital Penang
Booking: “Please email or WhatsApp us at least 1 week in advance.”
5 published pricesDetails
Prince Court Medical Centre
Booking: “Start planning at least three months ahead, considering travel bookings and treatment scheduling.”
12 published pricesDetails
Mahkota Medical Centre
No booking time published: ask in writing
8 published pricesDetails
Published coronary angioplasty with a stent prices in Malaysia
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka | 27,760 MYR to 34,080 MYRabout £5,080–£6,240 · €6,070–€7,450 · C$9,510–C$11,670 · $6,790–$8,340 | Coronary angioplasty (PTCA with angiogram), 1 stentRange of past patients’ bills: 25th to 75th percentile (median RM30,030), average stay 1 night. The hospital says your bill can differ. Not stated. | Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
| Gleneagles Hospital PenangPenang | 30,000 MYRabout £5,490 · €6,560 · C$10,280 · $7,340 | Angioplasty, 1 stent (2 stents about RM35,000; 3 stents about RM40,000)An approximate figure on the IHH Malaysia international patient site; the final bill depends on your condition and the technique used. Not stated. | IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026 |
| Prince Court Medical CentreKuala Lumpur | From 22,000 MYRabout £4,030 · €4,810 · C$7,540 · $5,380 | Angioplasty, 1 stent“Start from” figure on the IHH Malaysia international patient site; stay and inclusions not stated. Not stated. | IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026 |
| Pantai Hospital Kuala LumpurKuala Lumpur | From 19,888 MYRabout £3,640 · €4,350 · C$6,810 · $4,870 | Angiogram and/or angioplasty“Start from” figure on the IHH Malaysia international patient site; stent count and stay not stated. Not stated. | IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026 |
| Pantai Hospital MelakaMelaka | 27,000 MYRabout £4,940 · €5,900 · C$9,250 · $6,610 | Angioplasty, 1 stent (2 stents RM35,000; 3 stents RM48,000)The page calls it an estimate; inclusions and stay not stated. Not stated. | IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Against waiting or paying in Canada
We have not found an official waiting-time figure for a coronary angioplasty with a stent in Canada.
Can your provincial plan pay?
Ask your provincial health plan before you book. We have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad yet, and they differ by province.
Planning the trip from Canada
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for a coronary angioplasty with a stent and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goSend your latest ECG, echocardiogram, any stress test or CT angiogram, and your medicine list; ask a cardiologist there to confirm in writing that a stent is the likely plan.
- Before you goGet a written quote that says how many stents are included and the price of each extra one.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers a planned procedure abroad.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca).
- LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
- After you returnKeep taking the blood-thinning medicines exactly as prescribed; stopping them early can block the stent.
- After you returnBring the procedure report and the stent details (type and size) to your doctor at home.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare Malaysia with every other country for a coronary angioplasty with a stent from Canada: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
Coronary stent in Malaysia from Canada: questions
How much is a coronary angioplasty with a stent in Malaysia for Canadians?
The published prices we found work out at C$6,810–C$11,670 at the clinic, from Mahkota Medical Centre, Gleneagles Hospital Penang, Prince Court Medical Centre, Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur and Pantai Hospital Melaka. Adding a rough travel estimate of C$2,400 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about C$9,210. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in Canada?
We have not verified a self-pay price in Canada for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.
How long is the wait for a coronary angioplasty with a stent in Canada?
We have not found an official waiting-time figure for this in Canada.
How many days do I need in Malaysia?
Often 1 to 2 nights in hospital, then a few days nearby before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my provincial plan pay for it?
Ask your provincial health plan before booking; we have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad.
Sources
- Treatment cost estimation. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Gleneagles Hospital Penang: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
- Prince Court Medical Centre: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
- Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
- Pantai Hospital Melaka: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
- International patients. Gleneagles Hospital Penang. Read 27 October 2026.
- International patients. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.