New: heart bypass and stent

Compare

From Canada · Heart bypass surgery · Malaysia

Heart bypass surgery in Malaysia from Canada: what the trip costs against the wait at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Canadians, heart bypass surgery in Malaysia costs C$20,550–C$27,400 at the clinics we checked, or about C$24,210 with a rough travel estimate added.

Clinic price
C$20,550–C$27,4002 providers, one coronary artery bypass operation
With travel
C$24,210clinic C$20,550 + about C$3,660 travel (rough estimate)
Pay privately in Canada
Not verified
Wait in Canada
Median 8.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 84 days (2025)
Cover in Canada
Not reviewed yet
Soonest booking there
Not published: ask in writing
Rank from Canada
2 of 3 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in CAD

Trip total C$24,210

Lowest published clinic price and a rough travel estimate from Canada (return flight and hotel). The travel part is an estimate, not a quote.

Figure 2Heart bypass surgery: cheapest trip from Canada, by country

Total trip in CAD: lowest to highest published price plus the same rough travel estimate. Click a country for its page for Canadians.

Published heart bypass surgery prices in Malaysia

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

Heart bypass surgery prices in Malaysia
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Pantai Hospital Kuala LumpurKuala LumpurFrom 60,000 MYRabout £10,990 · €13,120 · C$20,550 · $14,690Coronary artery bypass graft (CABG)“Start from” figure on the IHH Malaysia international patient site; stay and inclusions not stated. Not stated.IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026
Pantai Hospital MelakaMelaka66,000 MYR to 80,000 MYRabout £12,080–£14,650 · €14,430–€17,490 · C$22,610–C$27,400 · $16,150–$19,580Coronary artery bypass graft (CABG)The page calls it an estimate; inclusions and stay not stated. Not stated.IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Against waiting or paying in Canada

Canada (national), 2025: Median 8.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 84 days. Days from the date patient and surgeon agree to a planned bypass to the operation, emergencies excluded: median and 90th percentile (8,546 cases, April to September 2025). Waits and prices for heart bypass surgery in Canada.

Can your provincial plan pay?

Ask your provincial health plan before you book. We have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad yet, and they differ by province.

Planning the trip from Canada

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for heart bypass surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goSend your angiogram images and report, echocardiogram, blood tests and medicine list; ask the hospital to confirm in writing that a cardiac surgeon has reviewed them and agrees to operate.
  3. Before you goGet a written quote that names what is and is not included, and ask what the deposit and refund rules are if the surgeon decides not to operate.
  4. Before you goCheck that your travel insurance covers a planned operation abroad; most standard policies do not.
  5. Before you goTake a companion: you will not be able to carry bags or look after yourself for the first weeks.
  6. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca).
  7. LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
  8. After you returnAsk your doctor at home before you leave who will see you afterwards, and bring the full operation notes and discharge letter in English.
  9. After you returnCardiac rehabilitation at home is usually arranged through your own doctor; ask about it early.
  10. After you returnFever, a wound that is red or leaking, breathlessness or chest pain after you return need urgent care.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Compare Malaysia with every other country for heart bypass surgery from Canada: price, how soon, and the hospitals.

Open the calculator

Related pages

Heart bypass surgery in Malaysia from Canada: questions

How much is heart bypass surgery in Malaysia for Canadians?

The published prices we found work out at C$20,550–C$27,400 at the clinic, from Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur and Pantai Hospital Melaka. Adding a rough travel estimate of C$3,660 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about C$24,210. Your own fares and dates will change that part.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in Canada?

We have not verified a self-pay price in Canada for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.

How long is the wait for heart bypass surgery in Canada?

Canada (national): Median 8.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 84 days (2025). Days from the date patient and surgeon agree to a planned bypass to the operation, emergencies excluded: median and 90th percentile (8,546 cases, April to September 2025).

How many days do I need in Malaysia?

Usually 1 to 2 weeks in hospital and nearby, then until the surgeon clears you to fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will my provincial plan pay for it?

Ask your provincial health plan before booking; we have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad.

Sources

  1. Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Pantai Hospital Melaka: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
  3. Wait times for priority procedures in Canada, 2008 to 2025: data tables. Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI), 25 June 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.