Heart bypass surgery · Malaysia
Heart bypass surgery in Malaysia: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
We found 2 published prices for heart bypass surgery in Malaysia, from 60,000 MYR to 80,000 MYR, or about £10,990 to £14,650 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £28,510 at the providers we checked.
- Published price
- 60,000 MYR to 80,000 MYRabout £10,990 to £14,650 · about €13,120 to €17,490 · about C$20,550 to C$27,400 · about $14,690 to $19,580
- Price is for
- one coronary artery bypass operation (CABG) with the hospital stay its package includes; the number of grafts and nights differ, so each row says what it includes
- Where
- Kuala Lumpur and Melaka
- Providers
- 2 (Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur and Pantai Hospital Melaka)
- Soonest booking
- Not published: ask in writing
- NHS England wait
- Just over 100 days (April to September 2025, published June 2026)
Published heart bypass surgery prices in Malaysia
Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pantai Hospital Kuala LumpurKuala Lumpur | From 60,000 MYRabout £10,990 · €13,120 · C$20,550 · $14,690 | Coronary artery bypass graft (CABG)“Start from” figure on the IHH Malaysia international patient site; stay and inclusions not stated. Not stated. | IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026 |
| Pantai Hospital MelakaMelaka | 66,000 MYR to 80,000 MYRabout £12,080–£14,650 · €14,430–€17,490 · C$22,610–C$27,400 · $16,150–$19,580 | Coronary artery bypass graft (CABG)The page calls it an estimate; inclusions and stay not stated. Not stated. | IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Compared with waiting or paying at home
The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Malaysia price converted to that currency. The Malaysia figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.
| Where you live | Official wait | Pay at home | Here, converted |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | Just over 100 daysUK, all NHS heart surgery units, April to September 2025, published June 2026 | £28,510 | £10,990 to £14,650before flights and hotel |
| Canada | Median 8.7 days; 1 in 10 waited over 84 daysCanada (national), 2025 | Not verified | C$20,550 to C$27,400before flights and hotel |
| Ireland | About 45% waiting over 6 months (all cardio-thoracic surgery)Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026 | Not verified | €13,120 to €17,490before flights and hotel |
| US | No national figure | Not verified | $14,690 to $19,580before flights and hotel |
Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Pick where you live to see the Malaysia price and how soon hospitals say they can see you, next to your wait and your price at home.
How it works for a visitor
- Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the heart bypass surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goSend your angiogram images and report, echocardiogram, blood tests and medicine list; ask the hospital to confirm in writing that a cardiac surgeon has reviewed them and agrees to operate.
- Before you goGet a written quote that names what is and is not included, and ask what the deposit and refund rules are if the surgeon decides not to operate.
- Before you goCheck that your travel insurance covers a planned operation abroad; most standard policies do not.
- Before you goTake a companion: you will not be able to carry bags or look after yourself for the first weeks.
- LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- After you returnAsk your doctor at home before you leave who will see you afterwards, and bring the full operation notes and discharge letter in English.
- After you returnCardiac rehabilitation at home is usually arranged through your own doctor; ask about it early.
- After you returnFever, a wound that is red or leaking, breathlessness or chest pain after you return need urgent care.
Can your public system pay for it?
NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Malaysia. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Malaysia is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.
When not to travel for heart bypass surgery
- Chest pain at rest, pain that is getting worse, or a heart attack: that is an emergency at home, not a trip.
- Anyone whose own cardiologist says they are not fit to fly before surgery.
- Anyone who cannot stay near the hospital until the surgeon and the airline agree they can fly home.
How to compare heart bypass surgery quotes
Coronary artery bypass grafting (CABG) is open-heart surgery that takes a blood vessel from the chest, leg or arm and connects it around a narrowed coronary artery, so blood reaches the heart muscle again. It is planned when several arteries are narrowed or a stent is not suitable. Most people spend about a week in hospital, including a day or two in intensive care.
- Check what the package covers: the number of grafts, intensive-care days, ward nights, the surgeon and anaesthetist fees, and what happens if you need extra days.
- Ask whether the price assumes an ordinary (on-pump) operation or a minimally invasive one, and what changes if the surgeon decides differently on the day.
- Ask how many bypass operations the team does a year and who looks after you if there is a complication after you fly home.
- Ask for the date in writing: how soon after your records arrive they can assess you, and how soon after that they can operate.
Providers on this page
We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.
- Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur: From 60,000 MYR
- Pantai Hospital Melaka, Melaka: 66,000 MYR to 80,000 MYR
Related comparisons
- Heart bypass surgery abroad: all 6 countries compared
- Heart bypass surgery in Poland
- Heart bypass surgery in Lithuania
- Heart bypass surgery in Taiwan
- Heart bypass surgery in Thailand
- Heart bypass surgery in Singapore
- Colonoscopy in Malaysia
- Gastroscopy in Malaysia
- Health check-up in Malaysia
- Heart check-up in Malaysia
- Cancer screening in Malaysia
- Coronary stent in Malaysia
- Cataract surgery in Malaysia
- Laser eye surgery in Malaysia
- Knee replacement in Malaysia
- IVF in Malaysia
- Treatment in Malaysia: every procedure
- Wait or Fly home: the calculator
Heart bypass surgery in Malaysia: questions
How much does heart bypass surgery cost in Malaysia?
The published prices we found range from 60,000 MYR to 80,000 MYR, about £10,990 to £14,650 or $14,690 to $19,580. They come from Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur and Pantai Hospital Melaka. Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.
Is heart bypass surgery in Malaysia cheaper than paying privately in the UK?
Before travel, the prices here work out at about £10,990 to £14,650, against about £28,510 at the UK providers we checked. Travel adds a flight and a hotel on top; the calculator on the home page adds a rough estimate.
Will the NHS or HSE pay for heart bypass surgery in Malaysia?
No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. Malaysia is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.
How many days should I plan in Malaysia?
Usually 1 to 2 weeks in hospital and nearby, then until the surgeon clears you to fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.
What should I check before booking heart bypass surgery in Malaysia?
Check what the package covers: the number of grafts, intensive-care days, ward nights, the surgeon and anaesthetist fees, and what happens if you need extra days. Ask whether the price assumes an ordinary (on-pump) operation or a minimally invasive one, and what changes if the surgeon decides differently on the day.
Sources
- Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
- Pantai Hospital Melaka: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.