New: heart bypass and stent

Compare

From Ireland · Heart bypass surgery · Malaysia

Heart bypass surgery in Malaysia from Ireland: what the trip costs against the wait at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Irish patients, heart bypass surgery in Malaysia costs €13,120–€17,490 at the clinics we checked, or about €15,230 with a rough travel estimate added.

Clinic price
€13,120–€17,4902 providers, one coronary artery bypass operation
With travel
€15,230clinic €13,120 + about €2,110 travel (rough estimate)
Pay privately in Ireland
Not verified
Wait in Ireland
About 45% waiting over 6 months (all cardio-thoracic surgery) (24 September 2026)
Cover in Ireland
Not reviewed yet
Soonest booking there
Not published: ask in writing
Rank from Ireland
2 of 3 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in EUR

Trip total €15,230

Lowest published clinic price and a rough travel estimate from Ireland (return flight and hotel). The travel part is an estimate, not a quote.

Figure 2Heart bypass surgery: cheapest trip from Ireland, by country

Total trip in EUR: lowest to highest published price plus the same rough travel estimate. Click a country for its page for Irish patients.

Published heart bypass surgery prices in Malaysia

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

Heart bypass surgery prices in Malaysia
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Pantai Hospital Kuala LumpurKuala LumpurFrom 60,000 MYRabout £10,990 · €13,120 · C$20,550 · $14,690Coronary artery bypass graft (CABG)“Start from” figure on the IHH Malaysia international patient site; stay and inclusions not stated. Not stated.IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026
Pantai Hospital MelakaMelaka66,000 MYR to 80,000 MYRabout £12,080–£14,650 · €14,430–€17,490 · C$22,610–C$27,400 · $16,150–$19,580Coronary artery bypass graft (CABG)The page calls it an estimate; inclusions and stay not stated. Not stated.IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site)read 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Against waiting or paying in Ireland

Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026: About 45% waiting over 6 months (all cardio-thoracic surgery). Cardio-thoracic surgery as a whole, not bypass alone: 828 adults on the inpatient/day-case list, 376 of them waiting over 6 months (63 over 18 months); another 429 waiting for a first cardio-thoracic outpatient appointment. Waits and prices for heart bypass surgery in Ireland.

Can the HSE pay?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Malaysia. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Malaysia is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

Planning the trip from Ireland

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for heart bypass surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goSend your angiogram images and report, echocardiogram, blood tests and medicine list; ask the hospital to confirm in writing that a cardiac surgeon has reviewed them and agrees to operate.
  3. Before you goGet a written quote that names what is and is not included, and ask what the deposit and refund rules are if the surgeon decides not to operate.
  4. Before you goCheck that your travel insurance covers a planned operation abroad; most standard policies do not.
  5. Before you goTake a companion: you will not be able to carry bags or look after yourself for the first weeks.
  6. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  7. LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
  8. After you returnAsk your doctor at home before you leave who will see you afterwards, and bring the full operation notes and discharge letter in English.
  9. After you returnCardiac rehabilitation at home is usually arranged through your own doctor; ask about it early.
  10. After you returnFever, a wound that is red or leaking, breathlessness or chest pain after you return need urgent care.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Compare Malaysia with every other country for heart bypass surgery from Ireland: price, how soon, and the hospitals.

Open the calculator

Related pages

Heart bypass surgery in Malaysia from Ireland: questions

How much is heart bypass surgery in Malaysia for Irish patients?

The published prices we found work out at €13,120–€17,490 at the clinic, from Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur and Pantai Hospital Melaka. Adding a rough travel estimate of €2,110 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about €15,230. Your own fares and dates will change that part.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in Ireland?

We have not verified a self-pay price in Ireland for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.

How long is the wait for heart bypass surgery in Ireland?

Ireland (public hospitals): About 45% waiting over 6 months (all cardio-thoracic surgery) (24 September 2026). Cardio-thoracic surgery as a whole, not bypass alone: 828 adults on the inpatient/day-case list, 376 of them waiting over 6 months (63 over 18 months); another 429 waiting for a first cardio-thoracic outpatient appointment.

How many days do I need in Malaysia?

Usually 1 to 2 weeks in hospital and nearby, then until the surgeon clears you to fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will the HSE pay for it?

No. HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland; Malaysia is outside them.

Sources

  1. Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Pantai Hospital Melaka: treatments and estimated costs. IHH Healthcare Malaysia (international patient site). Read 27 October 2026.
  3. Open data: inpatient/day case waiting list by specialty, 2026. National Treatment Purchase Fund (NTPF), October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.