From Canada · IVF · China
IVF in China from Canada: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Canadians, an IVF cycle in China costs C$4,620–C$9,440 at the clinic we checked, or about C$7,980 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about C$1,020 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in Canada (C$9,000).
- Clinic price
- C$4,620–C$9,4401 provider, one IVF or ICSI cycle with your own eggs: monitoring, egg collection, lab work and one fresh embryo transfer. Medicines count as included only where the clinic says so
- With travel
- C$7,980clinic C$4,620 + about C$3,360 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in Canada
- C$9,000–C$13,500
- Wait in Canada
- No official figure found
- Cover in Canada
- Ontario funds one IVF cycle (under 43, drugs extra), Quebec one cycle for life, and British Columbia up to CAD 19,000 for one cycle depending on income. Alberta does not cover IVF.
- Soonest booking there
- Not published: ask in writing
- Rank from Canada
- 6 of 8 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in CAD
Trip total C$7,980C$1,020 under home
Figure 2IVF: cheapest trip from Canada, by country
How soon hospitals in China can see you
These hospitals run a service for international patients; the booking time is each one's own words.
Jiahui International Hospital
- Fertility
- Imaging
- Digestive
No booking time published: ask in writing
19 published pricesDetails
Published IVF cycle prices in China
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥42,000about £4,710 · €5,630 · C$8,810 · $6,300 | IVF-ET packagePackage; medicines not stated. | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥45,000about £5,050 · €6,030 · C$9,440 · $6,750 | ICSI packagePackage; medicines not stated. | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥22,000about £2,470 · €2,950 · C$4,620 · $3,300 | Early-bird IVF-ETContents and medicines not stated. No validity shown on page. | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥30,000about £3,360 · €4,020 · C$6,290 · $4,500 | Early-bird ICSIContents and medicines not stated. No validity shown on page. | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥15,000about £1,680 · €2,010 · C$3,150 · $2,250 | Frozen embryo transferAs listed.Not comparable | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
The low prices are official maximums for the ordinary service of public hospitals, where few staff speak English. International departments and private hospitals cost far more: Shanghai International Medical Center lists ¥3,500 for an MRI of one site against the city's public cap of ¥430 (SIMC, Shanghai notice).
Entry. China's Foreign Ministry announced visa-free stays of up to 30 days for holders of ordinary British and Canadian passports from 17 February 2026 (MFA, in Chinese); the Chinese embassy in Canada lists Canada, the UK and Ireland among the unilateral visa-free countries until 31 December 2026 (embassy page, in Chinese). The 240-hour transit visa-free scheme now covers 57 countries and needs a confirmed onward ticket to a third country (Xinhua). We did not find an official page confirming visa-free entry for US citizens. Rules change: check before you book.
Against waiting or paying in Canada
We have not found an official waiting-time figure for an IVF cycle in Canada.
Paying privately in Canada: C$9,000–C$13,500, from TRIO Fertility and CReATe Fertility Centre.
Can your provincial plan pay?
Ask your provincial health plan before you book. We have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad yet, and they differ by province.
Planning the trip from Canada
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for an IVF cycle and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goCheck what your home health service funds first. NICE in England recommends up to three cycles under 40, but local health boards decide, and the HSE in Ireland funds one round for eligible couples.
- Before you goAsk the clinic for a written plan with dates, medicines and every fee, and agree how embryos are stored if you do not use them all.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca).
- LanguageMandarin; English is reliable only in international departments and private hospitals.
- After you returnTell your GP if you are pregnant after treatment abroad, with the clinic’s report on the transfer.
- After you returnSevere tummy pain, swelling or breathlessness after egg collection can be a reaction to the hormones and needs urgent care.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare China with every other country for an IVF cycle from Canada: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
IVF in China from Canada: questions
How much is an IVF cycle in China for Canadians?
The published prices we found work out at C$4,620–C$9,440 at the clinic, from Jiahui International Hospital. Adding a rough travel estimate of C$3,360 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about C$7,980. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in Canada?
Yes, by about C$1,020 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is C$9,000. The gap shrinks if your travel costs more than our estimate.
How long is the wait for an IVF cycle in Canada?
We have not found an official waiting-time figure for this in Canada.
How many days do I need in China?
About 2 to 3 weeks for a fresh cycle if you start the injections at the clinic; less if the clinic lets you start them at home and come for the last scans, egg collection and transfer. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my provincial plan pay for it?
Ask your provincial health plan before booking; we have not reviewed provincial rules for planned care abroad.
Sources
- Centres and specialties. Jiahui International Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
- Fertility treatment fees. TRIO Fertility (Toronto). Read 26 October 2026.
- Fees. CReATe Fertility Centre (Toronto). Read 26 October 2026.
- Price list (service guide). Shanghai International Medical Center (SIMC). Read 26 October 2026.
- Hu Yi Bao Jia Cai Fa [2025] No. 11 (沪医保价采发〔2025〕11号): radiology examination prices (in Chinese). Shanghai Municipal Healthcare Security Administration, 16 April 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
- Foreign Ministry spokesperson on visa-free entry for Canada and the UK from 17 February 2026 (in Chinese). Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the PRC, 15 February 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Unilateral visa-free policy (单方面免签) (in Chinese). Embassy of the PRC in Canada, May 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- 240-hour transit visa-free policy extended to 57 countries (in Chinese). Xinhua News Agency, 20 August 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Get fertility treatments. Government of Ontario, 8 June 2026. Read 27 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.