From US · IVF · China
IVF in China from the US: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Americans, an IVF cycle in China costs $3,300–$6,750 at the clinic we checked, or about $5,940 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about $2,060 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in the US ($7,990).
- Clinic price
- $3,300–$6,7501 provider, one IVF or ICSI cycle with your own eggs: monitoring, egg collection, lab work and one fresh embryo transfer. Medicines count as included only where the clinic says so
- With travel
- $5,940clinic $3,300 + about $2,640 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in US
- $7,990–$12,890
- Wait in US
- No national waiting list
- Cover in US
- Depends on your plan
- Soonest booking there
- Not published: ask in writing
- Rank from US
- 6 of 8 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in USD
Trip total $5,940$2,060 under home
Figure 2IVF: cheapest trip from the US, by country
Hospitals in China that offer an IVF cycle
These hospitals run a service for international patients and offer an IVF cycle. Open one for how to book and what it publishes.
Jiahui International Hospital
- Fertility
- Imaging
- Digestive
No booking time published: ask in writing
19 published pricesDetails
Published IVF cycle prices in China
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥42,000about £4,710 · €5,630 · C$8,810 · $6,300 | IVF-ET packagePackage; medicines not stated. | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥45,000about £5,050 · €6,030 · C$9,440 · $6,750 | ICSI packagePackage; medicines not stated. | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥22,000about £2,470 · €2,950 · C$4,620 · $3,300 | Early-bird IVF-ETContents and medicines not stated. No validity shown on page. | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥30,000about £3,360 · €4,020 · C$6,290 · $4,500 | Early-bird ICSIContents and medicines not stated. No validity shown on page. | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Jiahui International HospitalShanghai | CN¥15,000about £1,680 · €2,010 · C$3,150 · $2,250 | Frozen embryo transferAs listed.Not comparable | Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
The low prices are official maximums for the ordinary service of public hospitals, where few staff speak English. International departments and private hospitals cost far more: Shanghai International Medical Center lists ¥3,500 for an MRI of one site against the city's public cap of ¥430 (SIMC, Shanghai notice).
Entry. China's Foreign Ministry announced visa-free stays of up to 30 days for holders of ordinary British and Canadian passports from 17 February 2026 (MFA, in Chinese); the Chinese embassy in Canada lists Canada, the UK and Ireland among the unilateral visa-free countries until 31 December 2026 (embassy page, in Chinese). The 240-hour transit visa-free scheme now covers 57 countries and needs a confirmed onward ticket to a third country (Xinhua). We did not find an official page confirming visa-free entry for US citizens. Rules change: check before you book.
Against waiting or paying in the US
The US has no national public waiting list; what matters is the price your insurer or the hospital charges.
Paying privately in the US: $7,990–$12,890, from CNY Fertility. These are 2021 hospital cash-price medians or a dental school estimate, so today’s prices are probably higher.
Can your insurer pay?
Ask your insurer before you book. Plans rarely pay for planned treatment abroad unless they have agreed in writing first.
Planning the trip from the US
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for an IVF cycle and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goCheck what your home health service funds first. NICE in England recommends up to three cycles under 40, but local health boards decide, and the HSE in Ireland funds one round for eligible couples.
- Before you goAsk the clinic for a written plan with dates, medicines and every fee, and agree how embryos are stored if you do not use them all.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: US citizens (State Department, choose the country).
- LanguageMandarin; English is reliable only in international departments and private hospitals.
- After you returnTell your GP if you are pregnant after treatment abroad, with the clinic’s report on the transfer.
- After you returnSevere tummy pain, swelling or breathlessness after egg collection can be a reaction to the hormones and needs urgent care.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare China with every other country for an IVF cycle from the US: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
IVF in China from the US: questions
How much is an IVF cycle in China for Americans?
The published prices we found work out at $3,300–$6,750 at the clinic, from Jiahui International Hospital. Adding a rough travel estimate of $2,640 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about $5,940. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in the US?
Yes, by about $2,060 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is $7,990. The gap shrinks if your travel costs more than our estimate.
How long is the wait for an IVF cycle in the US?
There is no national public waiting list in the US; the question is usually the price your insurer pays.
How many days do I need in China?
About 2 to 3 weeks for a fresh cycle if you start the injections at the clinic; less if the clinic lets you start them at home and come for the last scans, egg collection and transfer. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my insurer pay for it?
Ask your insurer before booking. Most plans pay little or nothing for planned treatment abroad unless they agree in advance.
Sources
- Centres and specialties. Jiahui International Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
- IVF cost 2026: breakdown of prices, add-ons and how to save. CNY Fertility. Read 26 October 2026.
- Price list (service guide). Shanghai International Medical Center (SIMC). Read 26 October 2026.
- Hu Yi Bao Jia Cai Fa [2025] No. 11 (沪医保价采发〔2025〕11号): radiology examination prices (in Chinese). Shanghai Municipal Healthcare Security Administration, 16 April 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
- Foreign Ministry spokesperson on visa-free entry for Canada and the UK from 17 February 2026 (in Chinese). Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the PRC, 15 February 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Unilateral visa-free policy (单方面免签) (in Chinese). Embassy of the PRC in Canada, May 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- 240-hour transit visa-free policy extended to 57 countries (in Chinese). Xinhua News Agency, 20 August 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.