New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

IVF · China

IVF in China: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

We found 5 published prices for an IVF cycle in China, from CN¥22,000 to CN¥45,000, or about £2,470 to £5,050 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £3,800 at the providers we checked.

Published price
CN¥22,000 to CN¥45,000about £2,470 to £5,050 · about €2,950 to €6,030 · about C$4,620 to C$9,440 · about $3,300 to $6,750
Price is for
one IVF or ICSI cycle with your own eggs: monitoring, egg collection, lab work and one fresh embryo transfer. Medicines count as included only where the clinic says so
Where
Shanghai
Providers
1 (Jiahui International Hospital)
Soonest booking
Not published: ask in writing
NHS England wait
No NHS figure for this

Published IVF cycle prices in China

Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.

IVF prices in China
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Jiahui International HospitalShanghaiCN¥42,000about £4,710 · €5,630 · C$8,810 · $6,300IVF-ET packagePackage; medicines not stated.Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026
Jiahui International HospitalShanghaiCN¥45,000about £5,050 · €6,030 · C$9,440 · $6,750ICSI packagePackage; medicines not stated.Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026
Jiahui International HospitalShanghaiCN¥22,000about £2,470 · €2,950 · C$4,620 · $3,300Early-bird IVF-ETContents and medicines not stated. No validity shown on page.Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026
Jiahui International HospitalShanghaiCN¥30,000about £3,360 · €4,020 · C$6,290 · $4,500Early-bird ICSIContents and medicines not stated. No validity shown on page.Jiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026
Jiahui International HospitalShanghaiCN¥15,000about £1,680 · €2,010 · C$3,150 · $2,250Frozen embryo transferAs listed.Not comparableJiahui International Hospitalread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

The low prices are official maximums for the ordinary service of public hospitals, where few staff speak English. International departments and private hospitals cost far more: Shanghai International Medical Center lists ¥3,500 for an MRI of one site against the city's public cap of ¥430 (SIMC, Shanghai notice).

Entry. China's Foreign Ministry announced visa-free stays of up to 30 days for holders of ordinary British and Canadian passports from 17 February 2026 (MFA, in Chinese); the Chinese embassy in Canada lists Canada, the UK and Ireland among the unilateral visa-free countries until 31 December 2026 (embassy page, in Chinese). The 240-hour transit visa-free scheme now covers 57 countries and needs a confirmed onward ticket to a third country (Xinhua). We did not find an official page confirming visa-free entry for US citizens. Rules change: check before you book.

Hospitals in China that offer an IVF cycle to international patients

Each runs its own service for patients from abroad. The booking time on each card is the hospital's own words; where it publishes none, ask for a date in writing before you book flights.

Compared with waiting or paying at home

The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the China price converted to that currency. The China figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.

Waiting times and self-pay prices at home for IVF cycle
Where you liveOfficial waitPay at homeHere, converted
UKNo official figure found£3,800£2,470 to £5,050before flights and hotel
CanadaNo official figure foundC$9,000 to C$13,500C$4,620 to C$9,440before flights and hotel
IrelandNo official figure found€5,300€2,950 to €6,030before flights and hotel
USNo national figure$7,990 to $12,8902021 hospital data or a dental school$3,300 to $6,750before flights and hotel

Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Pick where you live to see the China price and how soon hospitals say they can see you, next to your wait and your price at home.

Open the calculator

How it works for a visitor

  1. Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the IVF cycle and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goCheck what your home health service funds first. NICE in England recommends up to three cycles under 40, but local health boards decide, and the HSE in Ireland funds one round for eligible couples.
  3. Before you goAsk the clinic for a written plan with dates, medicines and every fee, and agree how embryos are stored if you do not use them all.
  4. LanguageMandarin; English is reliable only in international departments and private hospitals.
  5. Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  6. After you returnTell your GP if you are pregnant after treatment abroad, with the clinic’s report on the transfer.
  7. After you returnSevere tummy pain, swelling or breathlessness after egg collection can be a reaction to the hormones and needs urgent care.

Can your public system pay for it?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach China. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in China is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

When not to travel for an IVF cycle

  • Anyone the destination’s law excludes. Thailand, for example, limits IVF to legally married couples, according to a Bangkok clinic.
  • People who have not had fertility tests at home: a clinic abroad will usually ask for them first.

How to compare IVF cycle quotes

In IVF, hormone injections stimulate the ovaries, the eggs are collected in a short procedure, fertilised in the laboratory, and an embryo is transferred to the womb a few days later. ICSI injects a single sperm into each egg. Clinic prices often leave out the medicines, which can cost as much as the cycle, and extras such as freezing embryos. Rules on who may have IVF differ by country.

  • Check whether the medicines are in the price. Many clinics quote them separately because doses differ.
  • Ask whether ICSI, embryo freezing, storage and a frozen transfer are included or extra.
  • Ask how many monitoring scans you need at the clinic, and whether some can be done at home.
  • Ask for the clinic’s own success figures for your age group, and how they are counted.

Providers on this page

We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.

Related comparisons

IVF in China: questions

How much does an IVF cycle cost in China?

The published prices we found range from CN¥22,000 to CN¥45,000, about £2,470 to £5,050 or $3,300 to $6,750. They come from Jiahui International Hospital. Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.

Is an IVF cycle in China cheaper than paying privately in the UK?

Before travel, the prices here work out at about £2,470 to £5,050, against about £3,800 at the UK providers we checked. Travel adds a flight and a hotel on top; the calculator on the home page adds a rough estimate.

Will the NHS or HSE pay for an IVF cycle in China?

No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. China is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.

How many days should I plan in China?

About 2 to 3 weeks for a fresh cycle if you start the injections at the clinic; less if the clinic lets you start them at home and come for the last scans, egg collection and transfer. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.

What should I check before booking an IVF cycle in China?

Check whether the medicines are in the price. Many clinics quote them separately because doses differ. Ask whether ICSI, embryo freezing, storage and a frozen transfer are included or extra.

Sources

  1. Centres and specialties. Jiahui International Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Price list (service guide). Shanghai International Medical Center (SIMC). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Hu Yi Bao Jia Cai Fa [2025] No. 11 (沪医保价采发〔2025〕11号): radiology examination prices (in Chinese). Shanghai Municipal Healthcare Security Administration, 16 April 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Foreign Ministry spokesperson on visa-free entry for Canada and the UK from 17 February 2026 (in Chinese). Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the PRC, 15 February 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  7. Unilateral visa-free policy (单方面免签) (in Chinese). Embassy of the PRC in Canada, May 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  8. 240-hour transit visa-free policy extended to 57 countries (in Chinese). Xinhua News Agency, 20 August 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  9. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.