New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

IVF · Malaysia

IVF in Malaysia: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

We found 2 published prices for an IVF cycle in Malaysia, from 12,000 MYR to 18,888 MYR, or about £2,200 to £3,460 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £3,800 at the providers we checked.

Published price
12,000 MYR to 18,888 MYRabout £2,200 to £3,460 · about €2,620 to €4,130 · about C$4,110 to C$6,470 · about $2,940 to $4,620
Price is for
one IVF or ICSI cycle with your own eggs: monitoring, egg collection, lab work and one fresh embryo transfer. Medicines count as included only where the clinic says so
Where
Melaka
Providers
1 (Mahkota Medical Centre)
Soonest booking
Not published: ask in writing
NHS England wait
No NHS figure for this

Published IVF cycle prices in Malaysia

Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.

IVF prices in Malaysia
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka12,000 MYRabout £2,200 · €2,620 · C$4,110 · $2,940IVF Package (RM12,000)Not stated on the web page (details in a downloadable brochure that was not listed); medication inclusion unknown Not stated.Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026
Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka18,888 MYRabout £3,460 · €4,130 · C$6,470 · $4,620IVF Package (RM18,888)Not stated on the web page (details in a brochure); medication inclusion unknown Not stated.Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Hospitals in Malaysia that offer an IVF cycle to international patients

Each runs its own service for patients from abroad. The booking time on each card is the hospital's own words; where it publishes none, ask for a date in writing before you book flights.

Compared with waiting or paying at home

The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Malaysia price converted to that currency. The Malaysia figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.

Waiting times and self-pay prices at home for IVF cycle
Where you liveOfficial waitPay at homeHere, converted
UKNo official figure found£3,800£2,200 to £3,460before flights and hotel
CanadaNo official figure foundC$9,000 to C$13,500C$4,110 to C$6,470before flights and hotel
IrelandNo official figure found€5,300€2,620 to €4,130before flights and hotel
USNo national figure$7,990 to $12,8902021 hospital data or a dental school$2,940 to $4,620before flights and hotel

Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Pick where you live to see the Malaysia price and how soon hospitals say they can see you, next to your wait and your price at home.

Open the calculator

How it works for a visitor

  1. Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the IVF cycle and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goCheck what your home health service funds first. NICE in England recommends up to three cycles under 40, but local health boards decide, and the HSE in Ireland funds one round for eligible couples.
  3. Before you goAsk the clinic for a written plan with dates, medicines and every fee, and agree how embryos are stored if you do not use them all.
  4. LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
  5. Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  6. After you returnTell your GP if you are pregnant after treatment abroad, with the clinic’s report on the transfer.
  7. After you returnSevere tummy pain, swelling or breathlessness after egg collection can be a reaction to the hormones and needs urgent care.

Can your public system pay for it?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Malaysia. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Malaysia is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

When not to travel for an IVF cycle

  • Anyone the destination’s law excludes. Thailand, for example, limits IVF to legally married couples, according to a Bangkok clinic.
  • People who have not had fertility tests at home: a clinic abroad will usually ask for them first.

How to compare IVF cycle quotes

In IVF, hormone injections stimulate the ovaries, the eggs are collected in a short procedure, fertilised in the laboratory, and an embryo is transferred to the womb a few days later. ICSI injects a single sperm into each egg. Clinic prices often leave out the medicines, which can cost as much as the cycle, and extras such as freezing embryos. Rules on who may have IVF differ by country.

  • Check whether the medicines are in the price. Many clinics quote them separately because doses differ.
  • Ask whether ICSI, embryo freezing, storage and a frozen transfer are included or extra.
  • Ask how many monitoring scans you need at the clinic, and whether some can be done at home.
  • Ask for the clinic’s own success figures for your age group, and how they are counted.

Providers on this page

We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.

Related comparisons

IVF in Malaysia: questions

How much does an IVF cycle cost in Malaysia?

The published prices we found range from 12,000 MYR to 18,888 MYR, about £2,200 to £3,460 or $2,940 to $4,620. They come from Mahkota Medical Centre. Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.

Is an IVF cycle in Malaysia cheaper than paying privately in the UK?

Before travel, the prices here work out at about £2,200 to £3,460, against about £3,800 at the UK providers we checked. Travel adds a flight and a hotel on top; the calculator on the home page adds a rough estimate.

Will the NHS or HSE pay for an IVF cycle in Malaysia?

No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. Malaysia is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.

How many days should I plan in Malaysia?

About 2 to 3 weeks for a fresh cycle if you start the injections at the clinic; less if the clinic lets you start them at home and come for the last scans, egg collection and transfer. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.

What should I check before booking an IVF cycle in Malaysia?

Check whether the medicines are in the price. Many clinics quote them separately because doses differ. Ask whether ICSI, embryo freezing, storage and a frozen transfer are included or extra.

Sources

  1. Centres and specialties. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Prices. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  3. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.