From US · Health check-up · Malaysia
Health check-up in Malaysia from the US: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Americans, a health check-up in Malaysia costs $147–$685 at the clinics we checked, or about $1,670 with a rough travel estimate added.
- Clinic price
- $147–$6853 providers, one package for one person
- With travel
- $1,670clinic $147 + about $1,520 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in US
- Not verified
- Wait in US
- No national waiting list
- Cover in US
- Medicare covers a yearly “Wellness” visit, but says it is not a routine physical exam.
- Soonest booking there
- “Appointments must be made at least three (3) working days in advance and are subject to availability.”Island Hospital
- Rank from US
- 5 of 12 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in USD
Trip total $1,670
Figure 2Health check-up: cheapest trip from the US, by country
Hospitals in Malaysia that offer a health check-up
These hospitals run a service for international patients and offer a health check-up. Open one for how to book and what it publishes.
Gleneagles Hospital Kuala Lumpur
- Check-ups
No booking time published: ask in writing
Prices on requestDetails
Prince Court Medical Centre
- Orthopaedics
- Check-ups
Booking: “Start planning at least three months ahead, considering travel bookings and treatment scheduling.”
11 published pricesDetails
Island Hospital
- Check-ups
Booking: “Appointments must be made at least three (3) working days in advance and are subject to availability.”
5 published pricesDetails
Mahkota Medical Centre
- Digestive
- Fertility
- Check-ups
No booking time published: ask in writing
7 published pricesDetails
Published health check-up prices in Malaysia
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prince Court Medical CentreKuala Lumpur | 900 MYRabout £165 · €197 · C$308 · $220 | Health screening package: Vibrant Male (below 40 years)Consultation and physical exam, report explanation, vitals, vision and hearing tests, body fat, about 20 blood tests, resting ECG, chest X-ray, ultrasound abdomen and pelvis. Other age packages not priced. Not stated. | Prince Court Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
| Prince Court Medical CentreKuala Lumpur | From 600 MYRabout £110 · €131 · C$206 · $147 | Medical Check-Up, start fromNot stated (estimate on IHH portal) Not stated. | Prince Court Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
| Island HospitalPenang | 760 MYRabout £139 · €166 · C$260 · $186 | Executive Health Screening PackagePhysical examination, complete medical report, consultation by health screening physician or specialist, light refreshments; blood tests across bones, diabetes, thyroid, kidney, liver and more (full list on page); optional tests extra Redeemable up to 31st December 2026. | Island Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Island HospitalPenang | 2,499 MYRabout £458 · €546 · C$856 · $612 | Comprehensive Plus package (Male)Physical exam, medical report, consultation with health screening physician; test list on the page includes CT scan of lungs, ultrasound abdomen and prostate, X-ray, ECG, treadmill/bicycle test; report on the next working day Redeemable up to 31st December 2026. | Island Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Island HospitalPenang | 2,799 MYRabout £512 · €612 · C$959 · $685 | Comprehensive Plus package (Female)Female version of the above (contents of the female page not listed) As listed. | Island Hospitalread 27 October 2026 |
| Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka | 2,198 MYRabout £402 · €481 · C$753 · $538 | Premier Health Screening - woman (Premier Gold: digital mammogram, radiology examination, cardiac examination)Blood and urine analysis, cardiac examination, eye tonometry, hearing, spirometry, gender-specific gynaecological examination, report explanation; full test list on page Not stated. | Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
| Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka | 1,908 MYRabout £349 · €417 · C$654 · $467 | Premier Health Screening - man (Premier Gold: PSA/tumour markers, radiology examination, cardiac examination)As above with PSA for men Not stated. | Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Against waiting or paying in the US
The US has no national public waiting list; what matters is the price your insurer or the hospital charges.
Can your insurer pay?
Ask your insurer before you book. Plans rarely pay for planned treatment abroad unless they have agreed in writing first.
Planning the trip from the US
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for a health check-up and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goMost packages need you to fast from the night before. Book a morning slot.
- Before you goAsk what happens if a test finds something: is a specialist available the same week, and at what price?
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: US citizens (State Department, choose the country).
- LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
- After you returnBring the full report to your doctor, not just the summary page.
- After you returnTreat a "borderline" or "follow up" note as a reason to see your doctor, not as a diagnosis.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare Malaysia with every other country for a health check-up from the US: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
Health check-up in Malaysia from the US: questions
How much is a health check-up in Malaysia for Americans?
The published prices we found work out at $147–$685 at the clinic, from Prince Court Medical Centre, Island Hospital and Mahkota Medical Centre. Adding a rough travel estimate of $1,520 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about $1,670. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in the US?
We have not verified a self-pay price in the US for this, so compare the trip total with a written quote from a provider at home.
How long is the wait for a health check-up in the US?
There is no national public waiting list in the US; the question is usually the price your insurer pays.
How many days do I need in Malaysia?
Half a day to one day for most packages; packages with endoscopy or several scans can take two days. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my insurer pay for it?
Ask your insurer before booking. Most plans pay little or nothing for planned treatment abroad unless they agree in advance.
Sources
- Centres and specialties. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- About the hospital. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Appointments for international patients. Island Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
- Centres and specialties. Island Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
- Prices. Island Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
- Centres and specialties. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- International patients. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Yearly “Wellness” visits. Medicare.gov. Read 27 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.