New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

Health check-up · Malaysia

Health check-up in Malaysia: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

We found 7 published prices for a health check-up in Malaysia, from 600 MYR to 2,799 MYR, or about £110 to £512 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £385 to £1,120 at the providers we checked.

Published price
600 MYR to 2,799 MYRabout £110 to £512 · about €131 to €612 · about C$206 to C$959 · about $147 to $685
Price is for
one package for one person; contents differ widely, so each row says what it includes
Where
Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Melaka
Providers
3 (Prince Court Medical Centre, Island Hospital and Mahkota Medical Centre)
Soonest booking
“Appointments must be made at least three (3) working days in advance and are subject to availability.”Island Hospital
NHS England wait
No NHS figure for this

Published health check-up prices in Malaysia

Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.

Health check-up prices in Malaysia
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Prince Court Medical CentreKuala Lumpur900 MYRabout £165 · €197 · C$308 · $220Health screening package: Vibrant Male (below 40 years)Consultation and physical exam, report explanation, vitals, vision and hearing tests, body fat, about 20 blood tests, resting ECG, chest X-ray, ultrasound abdomen and pelvis. Other age packages not priced. Not stated.Prince Court Medical Centreread 27 October 2026
Prince Court Medical CentreKuala LumpurFrom 600 MYRabout £110 · €131 · C$206 · $147Medical Check-Up, start fromNot stated (estimate on IHH portal) Not stated.Prince Court Medical Centreread 27 October 2026
Island HospitalPenang760 MYRabout £139 · €166 · C$260 · $186Executive Health Screening PackagePhysical examination, complete medical report, consultation by health screening physician or specialist, light refreshments; blood tests across bones, diabetes, thyroid, kidney, liver and more (full list on page); optional tests extra Redeemable up to 31st December 2026.Island Hospitalread 27 October 2026
Island HospitalPenang2,499 MYRabout £458 · €546 · C$856 · $612Comprehensive Plus package (Male)Physical exam, medical report, consultation with health screening physician; test list on the page includes CT scan of lungs, ultrasound abdomen and prostate, X-ray, ECG, treadmill/bicycle test; report on the next working day Redeemable up to 31st December 2026.Island Hospitalread 27 October 2026
Island HospitalPenang2,799 MYRabout £512 · €612 · C$959 · $685Comprehensive Plus package (Female)Female version of the above (contents of the female page not listed) As listed.Island Hospitalread 27 October 2026
Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka2,198 MYRabout £402 · €481 · C$753 · $538Premier Health Screening - woman (Premier Gold: digital mammogram, radiology examination, cardiac examination)Blood and urine analysis, cardiac examination, eye tonometry, hearing, spirometry, gender-specific gynaecological examination, report explanation; full test list on page Not stated.Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026
Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka1,908 MYRabout £349 · €417 · C$654 · $467Premier Health Screening - man (Premier Gold: PSA/tumour markers, radiology examination, cardiac examination)As above with PSA for men Not stated.Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Hospitals in Malaysia that offer a health check-up to international patients

Each runs its own service for patients from abroad. The booking time on each card is the hospital's own words; where it publishes none, ask for a date in writing before you book flights.

Prince Court Medical Centre

Kuala Lumpur · Private

  • Orthopaedics
  • Check-ups

Booking: “Start planning at least three months ahead, considering travel bookings and treatment scheduling.”

11 published pricesDetails

Island Hospital

Penang · Private

  • Check-ups

Booking: “Appointments must be made at least three (3) working days in advance and are subject to availability.”

5 published pricesDetails

Compared with waiting or paying at home

The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Malaysia price converted to that currency. The Malaysia figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.

Waiting times and self-pay prices at home for health check-up
Where you liveOfficial waitPay at homeHere, converted
UKNo official figure found£385 to £1,120£110 to £512before flights and hotel
CanadaNo official figure foundNot verifiedC$206 to C$959before flights and hotel
IrelandNo official figure foundNot verified€131 to €612before flights and hotel
USNo national figureNot verified$147 to $685before flights and hotel

Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Pick where you live to see the Malaysia price and how soon hospitals say they can see you, next to your wait and your price at home.

Open the calculator

How it works for a visitor

  1. Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the health check-up and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goMost packages need you to fast from the night before. Book a morning slot.
  3. Before you goAsk what happens if a test finds something: is a specialist available the same week, and at what price?
  4. LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
  5. Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  6. After you returnBring the full report to your doctor, not just the summary page.
  7. After you returnTreat a "borderline" or "follow up" note as a reason to see your doctor, not as a diagnosis.

Can your public system pay for it?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Malaysia. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Malaysia is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

When not to travel for a health check-up

  • Investigating a symptom you already have. A package is screening, not a diagnosis.
  • Replacing the screening your home health service already offers for free (bowel, breast or cervical screening).

How to compare health check-up quotes

A health check-up (called ningen dock in Japan, geongang geomjin in Korea, executive check-up in Thailand and Turkey) is a bundle of tests done in one visit: blood and urine tests, a doctor's examination, an ECG, often an ultrasound and a chest X-ray or CT, and in bigger packages an endoscopy, a colonoscopy or MRI.

  • Compare the contents, not just the price. A cheap package may leave out the ultrasound or the endoscopy.
  • Check whether the doctor's summary is in English and whether a doctor explains it to you on the day.
  • Women's and men's packages are often priced differently.
  • More tests are not always better: whole-body scans in healthy people often find harmless things that then need more tests.

Providers on this page

We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.

Related comparisons

Health check-up in Malaysia: questions

How much does a health check-up cost in Malaysia?

The published prices we found range from 600 MYR to 2,799 MYR, about £110 to £512 or $147 to $685. They come from Prince Court Medical Centre, Island Hospital and Mahkota Medical Centre. Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.

Is a health check-up in Malaysia cheaper than paying privately in the UK?

Before travel, the prices here work out at about £110 to £512, against about £385 to £1,120 at the UK providers we checked. Travel adds a flight and a hotel on top; the calculator on the home page adds a rough estimate.

Will the NHS or HSE pay for a health check-up in Malaysia?

No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. Malaysia is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.

How many days should I plan in Malaysia?

Half a day to one day for most packages; packages with endoscopy or several scans can take two days. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.

What should I check before booking a health check-up in Malaysia?

Compare the contents, not just the price. A cheap package may leave out the ultrasound or the endoscopy. Check whether the doctor's summary is in English and whether a doctor explains it to you on the day.

Sources

  1. Centres and specialties. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  2. About the hospital. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  3. Appointments for international patients. Island Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
  4. Centres and specialties. Island Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
  5. Prices. Island Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
  6. Centres and specialties. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  7. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  8. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  9. International patients. Prince Court Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  10. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.