From US · IVF · Malaysia
IVF in Malaysia from the US: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Americans, an IVF cycle in Malaysia costs $2,940–$4,620 at the clinic we checked, or about $5,780 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about $2,220 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in the US ($7,990).
- Clinic price
- $2,940–$4,6201 provider, one IVF or ICSI cycle with your own eggs: monitoring, egg collection, lab work and one fresh embryo transfer. Medicines count as included only where the clinic says so
- With travel
- $5,780clinic $2,940 + about $2,840 travel (rough estimate)
- Pay privately in US
- $7,990–$12,890
- Wait in US
- No national waiting list
- Cover in US
- Depends on your plan
- Soonest booking there
- Not published: ask in writing
- Rank from US
- 3 of 8 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in USD
Trip total $5,780$2,220 under home
Figure 2IVF: cheapest trip from the US, by country
Hospitals in Malaysia that offer an IVF cycle
These hospitals run a service for international patients and offer an IVF cycle. Open one for how to book and what it publishes.
Mahkota Medical Centre
- Digestive
- Fertility
- Check-ups
No booking time published: ask in writing
7 published pricesDetails
Published IVF cycle prices in Malaysia
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka | 12,000 MYRabout £2,200 · €2,620 · C$4,110 · $2,940 | IVF Package (RM12,000)Not stated on the web page (details in a downloadable brochure that was not listed); medication inclusion unknown Not stated. | Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
| Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka | 18,888 MYRabout £3,460 · €4,130 · C$6,470 · $4,620 | IVF Package (RM18,888)Not stated on the web page (details in a brochure); medication inclusion unknown Not stated. | Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Against waiting or paying in the US
The US has no national public waiting list; what matters is the price your insurer or the hospital charges.
Paying privately in the US: $7,990–$12,890, from CNY Fertility. These are 2021 hospital cash-price medians or a dental school estimate, so today’s prices are probably higher.
Can your insurer pay?
Ask your insurer before you book. Plans rarely pay for planned treatment abroad unless they have agreed in writing first.
Planning the trip from the US
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for an IVF cycle and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goCheck what your home health service funds first. NICE in England recommends up to three cycles under 40, but local health boards decide, and the HSE in Ireland funds one round for eligible couples.
- Before you goAsk the clinic for a written plan with dates, medicines and every fee, and agree how embryos are stored if you do not use them all.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: US citizens (State Department, choose the country).
- LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
- After you returnTell your GP if you are pregnant after treatment abroad, with the clinic’s report on the transfer.
- After you returnSevere tummy pain, swelling or breathlessness after egg collection can be a reaction to the hormones and needs urgent care.
Compare with your wait and price at home
Compare Malaysia with every other country for an IVF cycle from the US: price, how soon, and the hospitals.
Related pages
IVF in Malaysia from the US: questions
How much is an IVF cycle in Malaysia for Americans?
The published prices we found work out at $2,940–$4,620 at the clinic, from Mahkota Medical Centre. Adding a rough travel estimate of $2,840 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about $5,780. Your own fares and dates will change that part.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in the US?
Yes, by about $2,220 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is $7,990. The gap shrinks if your travel costs more than our estimate.
How long is the wait for an IVF cycle in the US?
There is no national public waiting list in the US; the question is usually the price your insurer pays.
How many days do I need in Malaysia?
About 2 to 3 weeks for a fresh cycle if you start the injections at the clinic; less if the clinic lets you start them at home and come for the last scans, egg collection and transfer. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my insurer pay for it?
Ask your insurer before booking. Most plans pay little or nothing for planned treatment abroad unless they agree in advance.
Sources
- Centres and specialties. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- Prices. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
- IVF cost 2026: breakdown of prices, add-ons and how to save. CNY Fertility. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.