New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From Ireland · IVF · Czechia

IVF in Czechia from Ireland: what the trip costs against paying at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Irish patients, an IVF cycle in Czechia costs €3,000–€3,250 at the clinics we checked, or about €4,410 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about €890 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in Ireland (€5,300).

Clinic price
€3,000–€3,2503 providers, one IVF or ICSI cycle with your own eggs: monitoring, egg collection, lab work and one fresh embryo transfer. Medicines count as included only where the clinic says so
With travel
€4,410clinic €3,000 + about €1,410 travel (rough estimate)
Pay privately in Ireland
€5,300
Wait in Ireland
No official figure found
Cover in Ireland
The HSE pays for 1 round of IVF or ICSI per couple, with rules on age (woman under 41 at referral), weight, smoking and existing children.
Soonest booking there
Not published: ask in writing
Rank from Ireland
3 of 8 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in EUR

Trip total €4,410€890 under home

Lowest published clinic price and a rough travel estimate from Ireland (return flight and hotel); the amber line is the lowest self-pay price at home. The travel part is an estimate, not a quote.

Figure 2IVF: cheapest trip from Ireland, by country

Total trip in EUR: lowest to highest published price plus the same rough travel estimate. The dashed line is the lowest self-pay price at home. Click a country for its page for Irish patients.

How soon hospitals in Czechia can see you

These hospitals run a service for international patients; the booking time is each one's own words.

Published IVF cycle prices in Czechia

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

IVF prices in Czechia
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Gennet (Prague)Prague€3,190about £2,670 · C$5,000 · $3,570IVF cycle with own eggs (Gennet Prague)Includes: consultation and ultrasound during the cycle, HIV/hepatitis B/hepatitis C/syphilis tests for both partners, oocyte pick-up with general anaesthesia, sperm analysis, ICSI, extended cultivation, possible assisted hatching, embryo transfer. Does NOT include: medication; other additional laboratory methods No validity date shown on the page.Gennet (Prague)read 27 October 2026
PRONATAL (Prague)PragueFrom €3,000about £2,510 · C$4,700 · $3,360IVF with own eggs'incl. basic laboratory methods'. Medication: not stated for this line No validity date shown.PRONATAL (Prague)read 27 October 2026
Reprofit (Brno)Brno€3,245about £2,720 · C$5,080 · $3,630IVF cycle with own eggs (IVF), price list for self-paying patientsIncludes: consultation, treatment plan, protocol preparation, stimulation monitoring, egg retrieval, sperm analysis and preparation, ICSI, extended cultivation, embryo transfer (fresh). Does NOT include: 2x STD testing, MFSS/MACS, PICSI, EmbryoGlue, TimeLapse cultivation, cryopreservation, general anesthesia. Medication: not stated in the price list (page says medicines and co-pays are discussed with the physician) Valid from 01.01.2026.Reprofit (Brno)read 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Against waiting or paying in Ireland

We have not found an official waiting-time figure for an IVF cycle in Ireland.

Paying privately in Ireland: €5,300, from ReproMed.

Can the HSE pay?

From Ireland (HSE): Czechia is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.

Planning the trip from Ireland

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for an IVF cycle and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goCheck what your home health service funds first. NICE in England recommends up to three cycles under 40, but local health boards decide, and the HSE in Ireland funds one round for eligible couples.
  3. Before you goAsk the clinic for a written plan with dates, medicines and every fee, and agree how embryos are stored if you do not use them all.
  4. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  5. LanguageCzech; Prague clinics that take patients from abroad have English pages and staff.
  6. After you returnTell your GP if you are pregnant after treatment abroad, with the clinic’s report on the transfer.
  7. After you returnSevere tummy pain, swelling or breathlessness after egg collection can be a reaction to the hormones and needs urgent care.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Compare Czechia with every other country for an IVF cycle from Ireland: price, how soon, and the hospitals.

Open the calculator

Related pages

IVF in Czechia from Ireland: questions

How much is an IVF cycle in Czechia for Irish patients?

The published prices we found work out at €3,000–€3,250 at the clinic, from Gennet (Prague), PRONATAL (Prague) and Reprofit (Brno). Adding a rough travel estimate of €1,410 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about €4,410. Your own fares and dates will change that part.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in Ireland?

Yes, by about €890 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is €5,300. The gap shrinks if your travel costs more than our estimate.

How long is the wait for an IVF cycle in Ireland?

We have not found an official waiting-time figure for this in Ireland.

How many days do I need in Czechia?

About 2 to 3 weeks for a fresh cycle if you start the injections at the clinic; less if the clinic lets you start them at home and come for the last scans, egg collection and transfer. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will the HSE pay for it?

Possibly in part: the Cross Border Directive scheme refunds up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid and with a referral.

Sources

  1. Prices. Gennet (Prague). Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Centres and specialties. PRONATAL (Prague). Read 27 October 2026.
  3. Prices. Reprofit (Brno). Read 27 October 2026.
  4. Treatment costs. ReproMed (Dublin and Galway). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  7. Getting IVF and other specialist treatment through the HSE. Health Service Executive (HSE), 30 June 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
  8. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.