New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From Ireland · IVF · Malaysia

IVF in Malaysia from Ireland: what the trip costs against paying at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Irish patients, an IVF cycle in Malaysia costs €2,620–€4,130 at the clinic we checked, or about €4,730 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about €566 less than the lowest self-pay price we found in Ireland (€5,300).

Clinic price
€2,620–€4,1301 provider, one IVF or ICSI cycle with your own eggs: monitoring, egg collection, lab work and one fresh embryo transfer. Medicines count as included only where the clinic says so
With travel
€4,730clinic €2,620 + about €2,110 travel (rough estimate)
Pay privately in Ireland
€5,300
Wait in Ireland
No official figure found
Cover in Ireland
The HSE pays for 1 round of IVF or ICSI per couple, with rules on age (woman under 41 at referral), weight, smoking and existing children.
Soonest booking there
Not published: ask in writing
Rank from Ireland
5 of 8 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in EUR

Trip total €4,730€566 under home

Lowest published clinic price and a rough travel estimate from Ireland (return flight and hotel); the amber line is the lowest self-pay price at home. The travel part is an estimate, not a quote.

Figure 2IVF: cheapest trip from Ireland, by country

Total trip in EUR: lowest to highest published price plus the same rough travel estimate. The dashed line is the lowest self-pay price at home. Click a country for its page for Irish patients.

How soon hospitals in Malaysia can see you

These hospitals run a service for international patients; the booking time is each one's own words.

Published IVF cycle prices in Malaysia

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

IVF prices in Malaysia
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka12,000 MYRabout £2,200 · €2,620 · C$4,110 · $2,940IVF Package (RM12,000)Not stated on the web page (details in a downloadable brochure that was not listed); medication inclusion unknown Not stated.Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026
Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka18,888 MYRabout £3,460 · €4,130 · C$6,470 · $4,620IVF Package (RM18,888)Not stated on the web page (details in a brochure); medication inclusion unknown Not stated.Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Against waiting or paying in Ireland

We have not found an official waiting-time figure for an IVF cycle in Ireland.

Paying privately in Ireland: €5,300, from ReproMed.

Can the HSE pay?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Malaysia. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Malaysia is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

Planning the trip from Ireland

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for an IVF cycle and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goCheck what your home health service funds first. NICE in England recommends up to three cycles under 40, but local health boards decide, and the HSE in Ireland funds one round for eligible couples.
  3. Before you goAsk the clinic for a written plan with dates, medicines and every fee, and agree how embryos are stored if you do not use them all.
  4. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  5. LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
  6. After you returnTell your GP if you are pregnant after treatment abroad, with the clinic’s report on the transfer.
  7. After you returnSevere tummy pain, swelling or breathlessness after egg collection can be a reaction to the hormones and needs urgent care.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Compare Malaysia with every other country for an IVF cycle from Ireland: price, how soon, and the hospitals.

Open the calculator

Related pages

IVF in Malaysia from Ireland: questions

How much is an IVF cycle in Malaysia for Irish patients?

The published prices we found work out at €2,620–€4,130 at the clinic, from Mahkota Medical Centre. Adding a rough travel estimate of €2,110 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about €4,730. Your own fares and dates will change that part.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in Ireland?

Yes, by about €566 on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is €5,300. The gap shrinks if your travel costs more than our estimate.

How long is the wait for an IVF cycle in Ireland?

We have not found an official waiting-time figure for this in Ireland.

How many days do I need in Malaysia?

About 2 to 3 weeks for a fresh cycle if you start the injections at the clinic; less if the clinic lets you start them at home and come for the last scans, egg collection and transfer. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will the HSE pay for it?

No. HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland; Malaysia is outside them.

Sources

  1. Centres and specialties. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Prices. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  3. Treatment costs. ReproMed (Dublin and Galway). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Getting IVF and other specialist treatment through the HSE. Health Service Executive (HSE), 30 June 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
  7. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.