New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From UK · IVF · Malaysia

IVF in Malaysia from the UK: what the trip costs against paying at home

Prices checked 27 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For UK patients, an IVF cycle in Malaysia costs £2,200–£3,460 at the clinic we checked, or about £4,070 with a rough travel estimate added. That is about £272 more than the lowest self-pay price we found in the UK (£3,800).

Clinic price
£2,200–£3,4601 provider, one IVF or ICSI cycle with your own eggs: monitoring, egg collection, lab work and one fresh embryo transfer. Medicines count as included only where the clinic says so
With travel
£4,070clinic £2,200 + about £1,870 travel (rough estimate)
Pay privately in UK
£3,800
Wait in UK
No official figure found
Cover in UK
NICE says to offer IVF to women under 42 (3 cycles under 40, 1 cycle at 40 or 41), but each local ICB decides who it funds and may add rules on age, weight, smoking or children.
Soonest booking there
Not published: ask in writing
Rank from UK
5 of 8 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in GBP

Trip total £4,070£272 over home

Lowest published clinic price and a rough travel estimate from the UK (return flight and hotel); the amber line is the lowest self-pay price at home. The travel part is an estimate, not a quote.

Figure 2IVF: cheapest trip from the UK, by country

Total trip in GBP: lowest to highest published price plus the same rough travel estimate. The dashed line is the lowest self-pay price at home. Click a country for its page for UK patients.

How soon hospitals in Malaysia can see you

These hospitals run a service for international patients; the booking time is each one's own words.

Published IVF cycle prices in Malaysia

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

IVF prices in Malaysia
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka12,000 MYRabout £2,200 · €2,620 · C$4,110 · $2,940IVF Package (RM12,000)Not stated on the web page (details in a downloadable brochure that was not listed); medication inclusion unknown Not stated.Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026
Mahkota Medical CentreMelaka18,888 MYRabout £3,460 · €4,130 · C$6,470 · $4,620IVF Package (RM18,888)Not stated on the web page (details in a brochure); medication inclusion unknown Not stated.Mahkota Medical Centreread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Against waiting or paying in the UK

We have not found an official waiting-time figure for an IVF cycle in the UK.

Paying privately in the UK: £3,800, from CREATE Fertility.

Can the NHS pay?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Malaysia. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Malaysia is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

Planning the trip from the UK

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for an IVF cycle and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goCheck what your home health service funds first. NICE in England recommends up to three cycles under 40, but local health boards decide, and the HSE in Ireland funds one round for eligible couples.
  3. Before you goAsk the clinic for a written plan with dates, medicines and every fee, and agree how embryos are stored if you do not use them all.
  4. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements).
  5. LanguageMalay; English is widely used in private hospitals.
  6. After you returnTell your GP if you are pregnant after treatment abroad, with the clinic’s report on the transfer.
  7. After you returnSevere tummy pain, swelling or breathlessness after egg collection can be a reaction to the hormones and needs urgent care.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Compare Malaysia with every other country for an IVF cycle from the UK: price, how soon, and the hospitals.

Open the calculator

Related pages

IVF in Malaysia from the UK: questions

How much is an IVF cycle in Malaysia for UK patients?

The published prices we found work out at £2,200–£3,460 at the clinic, from Mahkota Medical Centre. Adding a rough travel estimate of £1,870 for a return flight and a hotel, the trip comes to about £4,070. Your own fares and dates will change that part.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in the UK?

No, not on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is £3,800, about £272 less than the cheapest trip. It can make sense if you are already travelling to Malaysia.

How long is the wait for an IVF cycle in the UK?

We have not found an official waiting-time figure for this in the UK.

How many days do I need in Malaysia?

About 2 to 3 weeks for a fresh cycle if you start the injections at the clinic; less if the clinic lets you start them at home and come for the last scans, egg collection and transfer. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will the NHS pay for it?

No. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU and a few other European countries; Malaysia is outside it.

Sources

  1. Centres and specialties. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  2. Prices. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  3. IVF & fertility treatment costs: our prices. CREATE Fertility (UK). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Fertility problems: assessment and treatment (NG257), access criteria for IVF. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), 31 March 2026. Read 27 October 2026.
  7. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.