New: heart bypass and stent

Compare

Guide · Mexico · Dentistry

Getting dental work done in Mexico: what it costs, where to go and what to check

Getting dental work done in Mexico is a common way for Americans and Canadians to cut the cost of implants, crowns and veneers. Here are the prices clinics in Los Algodones, Tijuana and Cancún publish on their own lists, next to US prices, the towns people go to, and the checks to make before you pay.

Updated · Every figure links to its source

Implant with crown
$1,280–$1,610per tooth, clinic lists (our sums)
All-on-4
From $8,110per arch
Porcelain veneer
From $380per tooth
Medicare
Does not coverdental work in most cases

Short answer

Dental work in Mexico costs a fraction of US prices on the clinics' own lists: a single implant with its crown from $1,280, All-on-4 from $8,110 per arch and a veneer from $380. Prices are starting points set after an exam and X-rays, implants usually take two trips, and Medicare and most US insurance will not pay, so get a written plan and line up a dentist at home first.

Key findings

  1. Implants: $1,280 to $1,610 for an implant and crown at the three clinics we read, against an estimate of $2,000 to $6,000 for one implant at the University of Iowa's dental school.
  2. All-on-4: $8,110 per arch with an acrylic denture; Sani Dental Group and Algodones Dental Center list the same three All-on-4 prices.
  3. Everyday work is cheap too: a filling for $60 and a root canal for $340 on Sani Dental Group's list.
  4. Nobody rates the clinics. Check the dentist's licence (cédula profesional) and get a written plan; ratings and memberships on clinic sites are their own claims.

Dental work in Mexico: prices by treatment

Each price is from the clinic's own price list, in US dollars, read on the date shown at the end of the page. Where a clinic lists the implant and the crown separately, we add the two lines.

Algodones Dental CenterLos Algodones
Price$1,280
US price we hold$2,000 to $6,000 (University of Iowa College of Dentistry)
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysSingle titanium implant ($790) plus zirconia crown ($490), our sum of two lines. The page lists the implant and the crown separately and does not mention the abutment, so a finished tooth may cost more. Implant brand for this line not stated. Source
Dental Solutions TijuanaTijuana
Price$1,545
US price we hold$2,000 to $6,000 (University of Iowa College of Dentistry)
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysDental implant ($850) plus implant crown and abutment ($695), our sum of two lines. Prices in US dollars, “subject to change without prior notice”. Brand, 3D scan and bone graft not stated. Source
Sani Dental GroupLos Algodones
Price$1,610
US price we hold$2,000 to $6,000 (University of Iowa College of Dentistry)
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysTitanium dental implant ($890) plus standard implant crown including abutment ($720), our sum of two lines. Clinics in Los Algodones, Cancún and Playa del Carmen. “All prices on this website are Base Price or Starting At price”; the clinic says the price is set only after diagnosis. Straumann BLX implant (implant only) $1,350. CT scan and panoramic X-rays $150 and bone graft $420 per unit if needed; consultation free. Source
Sani Dental GroupLos Algodones
Price$8,110
US price we holdNone comparable
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysAll-on-4 with acrylic hybrid fixed denture, upper or lower arch. Per arch. With Nobel implants and a fixed hybrid denture $8,950; with Straumann $9,710; All-on-6 from $11,450. Base or starting price, set after diagnosis. Source
Algodones Dental CenterLos Algodones
Price$8,110
US price we holdNone comparable
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysAll-on-4 MIS, per arch. Per arch. Source
Dental Solutions TijuanaTijuana
Price$8,900
US price we holdNone comparable
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysAll on 4 treatment. Not stated whether per arch or what is included. Same terms. Source
Algodones Dental CenterLos Algodones
Price$8,950
US price we holdNone comparable
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysAll-on-4 Nobel, per arch. Per arch. Source
Algodones Dental CenterLos Algodones
Price$9,710
US price we holdNone comparable
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysAll-on-4 Straumann, per arch. Per arch. Source
Dental Solutions TijuanaTijuana
Price$380
US price we hold$990 to $2,169 (Aspen Dental)
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysVeneer (Porcelain). Not stated. “Prices in U.S. Dollars. Prices are subject to change without prior notice.” Card payments carry a 4% fee. Source
Algodones Dental CenterLos Algodones
Price$450
US price we hold$990 to $2,169 (Aspen Dental)
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysPorcelain Veneer, per unit. Not stated per unit. Zirconia veneer $490; composite $200. “Prices vary based on your dental needs and treatment plan. A dentist reviews your case before any work begins.” Source
Sani Dental GroupLos Algodones
Price$450
US price we hold$990 to $2,169 (Aspen Dental)
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysPorcelain veneer, per tooth. Zirconia veneer $490. Base or starting price; set after diagnosis. Clinics in Los Algodones, Cancún and Playa del Carmen. Source
Algodones Dental CenterLos Algodones
Price$490
US price we hold$990 to $2,169 (Aspen Dental)
MedicareNot covered
What the list saysZirconia Veneer (per unit). Per unit. Source

Everyday dental prices in Mexico

Fillings, crowns and root canals are what many people combine with a bigger job. From Sani Dental Group’s price list, read 1 November 2026, all base or starting prices in US dollars:

ConsultationFree
Cleaning$35
Composite filling$60
Simple extraction$60
Wisdom tooth or surgical extraction$190
Root canal, any tooth$340
Porcelain-fused-to-metal crown$230
Zirconia crown$490
E-max ceramic crown$395
3-unit bridge (porcelain fused to metal)$690
Full denture, acrylic, per arch$320
CT scan and panoramic X-rays$150
Bone graft, per unit$420
Sinus lift$700
IV sedation$600
Teeth whitening, in office$170

One clinic's list, not an average. Ask any clinic for the same items in writing before you compare.

Where Americans go for dental work in Mexico

  • Los Algodones. A border town near Yuma, Arizona; Algodones Dental Center says Yuma airport is 9 miles away and its clinic is two blocks from the crossing. It and Sani Dental Group both list prices there.
  • Tijuana. Across the border from San Diego. Dental Solutions Tijuana publishes a price list; hospitals there also do hip and knee replacement.
  • Cancún and Playa del Carmen. A flight away rather than a drive. Sani Dental Group says you can start treatment at one of its clinics and finish at another.

Sani Dental Group lists two clinics in Los Algodones, one in Cancún and one in Playacar (Sani Dental Group). Its credentials page lists the American Dental Association, the Medical Tourism Association, the Better Business Bureau and others (Sani Dental Group); these are the clinic's own claims and we have not checked them.

Six checks before you pay a dentist in Mexico

  1. Check the dentist’s licence. Ask for the dentist’s full name and cédula profesional number. Mexico’s Directorate General of Professions runs a public look-up of professional licences, linked from gob.mx.
  2. Get a written treatment plan. Teeth, implant brand, crown material, X-rays or CT scan, bone grafts and sedation, each with a price. Every list we read says its prices are a starting point set after diagnosis.
  3. Count the visits. Implants usually need two trips months apart: one to place the implant, one for the final crown. Ask how many visits and how long each takes.
  4. Ask what happens if it fails. Who pays for a failed implant or a broken crown, and whether you must travel back to have it fixed.
  5. Plan care at home. The CDC says follow-up care for complications can be expensive and might not be covered by your insurance. Find a dentist at home who will see you before you go.
  6. Check the equipment. The CDC’s Mexico page says that if you receive medical or dental care, make sure the equipment is disinfected or sanitized.

The licence look-up is on gob.mx; the search page itself did not open for our reader, so we could not test it. Canada's advice for Mexico says to check the provider is authorized by the Mexican health authorities, ask to see credentials and get a written agreement for the treatment (travel.gc.ca). The CDC's general advice is on medical tourism. Our guide is it worth going abroad for dental implants? works through when the savings hold up.

The trip: what to add to the price

Our calculator uses an example return fare of $300 from the US to Mexico and $110 a night for a hotel. For implants it plans 5 nights, about $850 in all; implants usually take two trips, months apart. Clinics near the border are within driving distance for many patients; Algodones Dental Center says a US citizen needs a passport or passport card to cross, and it can give a letter about the need for dental care. Run your own numbers in the cost calculator.

Implants in Turkey or Hungary are the other common choices; for Americans they mean a much longer flight. Compare all countries on dental implant prices by country.

Dental work in Mexico: questions

How much does dental work in Mexico cost?

On clinic price lists we read: a single implant with its crown costs $1,280 to $1,610 (our sums of the implant and crown lines), All-on-4 from $8,110 per arch, and a porcelain veneer $380 to $490 per tooth. Everyday work is cheaper still: Sani Dental Group lists a cleaning at $35, a filling at $60 and a root canal at $340. All are starting prices, set after the dentist sees you.

How much does Sani Dental Group charge?

Sani Dental Group’s price list, read on 1 November 2026, starts at $890 for a titanium implant and $720 for an implant crown with abutment ($1,610 together, our sum), $8,110 per arch for All-on-4 with an acrylic hybrid denture ($8,950 with Nobel implants, $9,710 with Straumann), $450 for a porcelain veneer and $490 for a zirconia crown. The consultation is free. It says all prices are base or starting prices.

Where is Sani Dental Group?

Its locations page lists two clinics in Los Algodones, one in Cancún and one in Playacar, Playa del Carmen. Its credentials page lists memberships and ratings, including the American Dental Association and the Better Business Bureau; those are the clinic’s own claims, which we have not checked.

Is it safe to get dental work done in Mexico?

No government rates Mexican dental clinics. The CDC warns that follow-up care for complications can be expensive and might not be covered by insurance, and Canada advises checking that the provider is authorized by the Mexican health authorities and getting a written agreement. Check the dentist’s licence, get a written plan and know who will see you at home.

Will my US insurance or Medicare pay for dental work in Mexico?

Medicare says that in most cases it does not cover dental services or items like dentures and implants. If you have a private dental plan, ask it in writing before you go whether it pays for treatment abroad, and keep itemised receipts.

Is Los Algodones or Tijuana better for dental work?

Neither is better as such. Los Algodones is a small border town near Yuma, Arizona; Tijuana is a large city across from San Diego. Compare the written plans and prices of the clinics themselves, not the towns.

Sources

  1. Dental prices. Algodones Dental Center (Los Algodones). Read 26 October 2026.
  2. Price list. Dental Solutions Tijuana. Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Dental price list in Mexico. Sani Dental Group (Los Algodones, Cancún, Playa del Carmen). Read 1 November 2026.
  4. Dental implants: patient care. University of Iowa College of Dentistry. Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Prices. Algodones Dental Center (ADC). Read 27 October 2026.
  6. Prices. Dental Solutions Tijuana. Read 27 October 2026.
  7. Los Algodones price list 2026. Algodones Dental Center (Los Algodones). Read 26 October 2026.
  8. Veneers cost. Aspen Dental. Read 26 October 2026.
  9. Our locations across Mexico. Sani Dental Group. Read 1 November 2026.
  10. Credentials and accreditations. Sani Dental Group. Read 1 November 2026.
  11. Cédula profesional (professional licence): request and look-up. Gobierno de México, Dirección General de Profesiones (gob.mx). Read 1 November 2026.
  12. Medical tourism: travel to another country for medical care. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 1 June 2023. Read 26 October 2026.
  13. Mexico: traveler view. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Read 1 November 2026.
  14. Rules for patients from abroad. travel.gc.ca. Read 27 October 2026.
  15. Dental services. Medicare.gov. Read 27 October 2026.