New: heart bypass and stent

Compare

Price report · IVF

How much does IVF cost? Price per cycle at home and abroad (2026)

How much does IVF cost? One cycle costs £3,795 to £4,909 at the UK clinics we checked, $7,994 to $20,000 in the US, C$9,000 to C$13,500 in Canada and from €5,300 in Ireland, before medicines at most of them. Below: what each clinic's price covers, what drugs, ICSI, freezing and frozen transfers add, and what clinics abroad publish.

Updated 27 October 2026 · Every figure links to its source

UK private
from £3,795per cycle, clinic prices
US
$7,990+4 clinics, self-pay
Medicines
Usually extraleft out or not stated in 8 of 9 home prices
Lowest abroad
$1,650Japan, cycle fee

Short answer

A single IVF cycle (stimulation, egg collection, fertilisation in the lab and one embryo transfer) costs from about $5,070 in the UK to $20,000 in the US at the clinics we checked. Fertility drugs are usually extra, from a few hundred pounds in the UK to several thousand dollars in the US, and freezing, frozen transfers, ICSI and genetic testing are priced on top.

UK (private)
£3,795 to £4,909 per cycle; £5,660 to £6,160 with medicines (Aberdeen)
US (self-pay)
$7,994 to $20,000 per cycle; UCSF all-in estimate $20,900 to $28,900
Canada
C$9,000 to C$13,500 per cycle, medicines extra
Ireland
From €5,300, medicines and freezing extra
Abroad
From about $1,650 (Japan), usually without medicines

Key findings

  1. The cycle fee is not the whole bill. Of the 9 clinic prices at home we read, only CNY Fertility includes a standard medicine protocol. The UK regulator, the HFEA, warns that some clinics quote treatment only, without fertility drugs, freezing or admin costs.
  2. Medicines vary more than anything else. From £498 to £997 for an 11-day supply in Aberdeen to C$5,000 to C$10,000+ in Toronto, depending on the dose you need.
  3. US prices are highest. $7,994 to $20,000 per cycle at four clinics, and UCSF estimates $20,900 to $28,900 with medicines, genetic testing and anaesthesia, even after a 50% cash-pay discount.
  4. Abroad is cheaper on paper. 8 countries have a clinic publishing a comparable cycle price; the lowest is Japan at about $1,650, a university hospital’s self-pay procedure fees with drugs, tests and inpatient fees added on top. Most of those prices leave out medicines or do not say.
  5. Public funding is limited. NICE recommends up to 3 cycles in England but local ICBs decide; the HSE funds 1 round; Ontario and Quebec fund one cycle; Alberta funds none.

Figure 1IVF cost per cycle by country (US dollars, cycle fee before medicines at most clinics)

Each bar runs from the lowest to the highest comparable cycle price a clinic publishes. Home countries first, then countries abroad from cheapest. Converted at the ECB rate of the date in the method note; click a country for every price line.

IVF cost per cycle at home: every clinic price we checked

Each line is copied from the clinic's own price page, with what it says the price covers. Read the “what the price is for” column before comparing two numbers: some include the embryo transfer and freezing, some include neither.

IVF cycle prices published by clinics in the UK, the US, Canada and Ireland
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
CREATE FertilityUK (16 CREATE clinics)From £3,795about €4,530 · C$7,100 · $5,070IVF cycleDoctor-led IVF with tailored stimulation and full clinical monitoring. Medicines not stated as included (“What may affect the cost? Medication type and dosage …”). Some clinics show from £3,995. Initial scan and consultation from £175 extra; ICSI from £1,395 extra.CREATE Fertility (UK)read 26 October 2026
NHS Grampian, Aberdeen Fertility CentreAberdeen (NHS clinic, self-funded patients)£4,909about €5,860 · C$9,180 · $6,5601st IVF/ICSI cycle, self-fundedConsent consultation, nurse appointment for medication, all monitoring, egg collection, embryo transfer and a follow-up or pregnancy scan. Medication extra: stimulation £498 to £997 for an 11-day supply, down-regulation from £63; HFEA fee £120. The clinic puts a first round at £5,660 to £6,160 with medication, before storage. Charges for 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027.NHS Grampianread 27 October 2026
TRIO FertilityTorontoC$13,500about £7,220 · €8,620 · $9,650Non-funded IVF cycleCare team, monitoring, egg retrieval, sperm preparation, IVF and/or ICSI, extended embryo culture, time-lapse incubation, electronic witnessing and embryo freezing. A fresh embryo transfer is listed separately ($1,350). Medication excluded: “$5,000 to $10,000+ depending on your protocol”.TRIO Fertility (Toronto)read 26 October 2026
CReATe Fertility CentreTorontoC$9,000about £4,810 · €5,750 · $6,430Non-insured IVF treatment cycle“Includes procedure & laboratory fees.” “Fees do not include the cost of Medications.” ICSI +$2,000. Whether the embryo transfer is in the cycle fee is not stated.CReATe Fertility Centre (Toronto)read 26 October 2026
ReproMedDublin and GalwayFrom €5,300about £4,440 · C$8,300 · $5,930IVF (in vitro fertilisation)Nurse consultation, cycle scans, hormone monitoring, egg retrieval, theatre fees, blastocyst culture, initial fresh embryo transfer, pregnancy blood test, up to 2 review consultations, Zymot sperm selection. Excludes viral screening, medication, embryo freezing and storage, time-lapse, Embryo Glue and the early pregnancy scan. ICSI €5,700. VHI members pay less (€4,300 / €3,300).ReproMed (Dublin and Galway)read 26 October 2026
CNY FertilityNew York State and other locations$7,994 to $12,888about £5,980–£9,640 · €7,140–€11,510 · C$11,190–C$18,040Complete IVF cycleThe clinic says its package “includes core IVF services, monitoring, and a standard medication protocol for as little as $7,994”; the top of the range includes add-ons such as genetic testing and frozen transfers. The same page also gives “$7,295–$12,000”. The page answered with HTTP status 406 but served the full article. Page titled “IVF Cost 2026”.CNY Fertilityread 26 October 2026
Strong Fertility Center (University of Rochester)Rochester, New York$9,790about £7,320 · €8,750 · C$13,700IVF cycle #1, self-payOne egg retrieval and up to 2 transfers (one fresh and one frozen, or two frozen). Excludes medications (“costs vary by patient and by protocol”), bloodwork, testing and long-term storage; first year of embryo storage $600. Subsequent cycles $7,290.Strong Fertility Centerread 27 October 2026
Duke Fertility CenterDurham, North Carolina$12,450 to $18,000about £9,310–£13,460 · €11,120–€16,080 · C$17,420–C$25,190In vitro fertilisation (IVF), self-pay guideA guide range, “not the exact costs for everyone”. IVF with ICSI $14,300 to $19,500; frozen embryo transfer $3,500 to $4,500. Medication extra: “Average medication costs: $5,000 - $6,000”.Duke Fertility Center (Duke Health)read 27 October 2026
UCSF Center for Reproductive HealthSan Francisco$14,000 to $20,000about £10,470–£14,960 · €12,510–€17,870 · C$19,590–C$27,990IVF cycle, estimated cash priceCycle fee only. The same table adds medicines $4,000 to $6,000, PGT $2,000 and anaesthesia $816, for an estimated total of $20,900 to $28,900. UCSF calls these high-level estimates that already include a 50% cash-pay discount.UCSF Center for Reproductive Healthread 27 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

For one country at a time, next to prices abroad in your currency: IVF cost in the US, IVF cost in the UK, IVF cost in Canada and IVF cost in Ireland.

How much IVF costs once medicines are added

Where a clinic publishes both its cycle fee and its medicine costs, this is what a first cycle comes to. Two lines are our own sums of the clinic's published ranges and say so; the others are the clinic's own totals.

IVF cost per cycle with medicines, where clinics publish both
ClinicCycle feeMedicinesFirst cycle, with medicines
NHS Grampian, Aberdeen Fertility Centre£4,909£498 to £997 stimulation, plus down-regulation from £63£5,660 to £6,160Clinic’s own total for a first round with medication, including the £120 HFEA fee, before embryo storage. Source
CNY Fertility$7,994 to $12,888Standard protocol included$7,994 to $12,888The clinic says its package includes a standard medication protocol; the top of the range includes add-ons. Source
Duke Fertility Center$12,450 to $18,000$5,000 to $6,000 (average)$17,450 to $24,000Our sum of the two published ranges; ICSI or a frozen transfer costs more. Source
UCSF Center for Reproductive Health$14,000 to $20,000$4,000 to $6,000$20,900 to $28,900Clinic’s own estimated total, which also includes PGT ($2,000) and anaesthesia ($816), after a 50% cash-pay discount. Source
TRIO FertilityC$13,500C$5,000 to C$10,000+C$19,850 to C$24,850+Our sum: cycle fee, fresh embryo transfer ($1,350) and the published medicine range. Source

The Strong Fertility Center (Rochester) charges $9,790 for a first cycle with one retrieval and up to two transfers, and CReATe in Toronto C$9,000; neither publishes a medicine figure, so they are not in this table. Medicines depend on the dose your doctor prescribes.

IVF treatment expenses, item by item

Most clinics price these separately from the cycle. The figures are each clinic's own; one clinic per country is not a national price, but it shows the size of each item.

IVF extras priced separately by clinics in the UK, the US and Canada
ItemUKUSCanada (CAD)
First consultation and tests£474 consultation with scan; AMH test £119 (NHS Grampian)$245 consultation; AMH $78 to $108 (Duke)AMH $125 (TRIO)
ICSI (sperm injected into each egg)From £1,395 extra (CREATE); included at NHS Grampian$14,300 to $19,500 with ICSI vs $12,450 to $18,000 without (Duke)+$2,000 (CReATe)
Freezing and storing embryosFreezing £319, storage £275 a year (NHS Grampian)First year of storage $600 (Strong Fertility Center)Freezing $600, storage $2,100 for 5 years (CReATe); TRIO stores free for 6 months, then $65 a month
Frozen embryo transfer£1,808 natural cycle, £2,207 with medicines (NHS Grampian)$3,500 to $4,500 (Duke); $5,000 to $7,500 with medicines (UCSF)$2,850 (TRIO); $2,300 (CReATe)
Genetic testing of embryos (PGT-A)IVF + PGT-A from £5,795, vs IVF from £3,795 (CREATE)$2,000 (UCSF)Biopsy $2,350 plus $425 per embryo (TRIO); $4,800 for up to 8 embryos (CReATe)

Read on the clinics' own pages on 27 October 2026. A frozen embryo transfer is what you pay for each later attempt with embryos you already have, so it matters as much as the first cycle fee.

IVF medication cost: what fertility drugs cost per cycle

Stimulation injections make the ovaries produce several eggs; a second drug stops early ovulation, a trigger injection times the egg collection, and progesterone supports the lining after transfer. The dose, and so the cost, depends on your age, egg reserve and the protocol. This is what clinics publish for one cycle:

IVF medication cost per cycle, as clinics publish it
ClinicMedicines for one cycleWhat the clinic says
NHS Grampian, Aberdeen Fertility Centre (self-funded patients)UK£498 to £997about $666–$1,330Stimulation medicines for an 11-day supply, depending on the dose prescribed, plus down-regulation from £63. No charge for the trigger injection, and no extra charge if you need more stimulation medicine. NHS Grampianread 27 October 2026
Duke Fertility CenterUS$5,000 to $6,000“Average medication costs”, listed beside its self-pay IVF prices. Duke Fertility Center (Duke Health)read 27 October 2026
UCSF Center for Reproductive HealthUS$4,000 to $6,000Medicines column of its IVF cash-price estimate; a frozen transfer adds $1,000 to $1,500 of medicines. UCSF Center for Reproductive Healthread 27 October 2026
CNY FertilityUS$1,500 to $7,000+The clinic says medication costs “can range from $1,500 to more than $7,000, with many standard IVF protocols costing around $2,700”. Its own package includes a standard protocol. CNY Fertilityread 27 October 2026
TRIO Fertility, TorontoCanadaC$5,000 to C$10,000+about $3,570–$7,150+Not included in its IVF fee, “depending on your protocol”. Medicines for a frozen transfer: $1,000 to $3,000+. The same applies to Ontario-funded cycles. TRIO Fertility (Toronto)read 27 October 2026
Gift Fertility, BangkokThailand฿70,000 to ฿80,000about $2,070–$2,370Stimulation medication line in the clinic’s own sample breakdown of a 250,000 THB IVF cycle. Gift Fertility (Bangkok)read 26 October 2026

Per dose, one London clinic's pharmacy list (dated 1 July 2023, the latest it publishes) shows why the total moves so much: a cycle can use several pens or vials.

IVF drug prices per pack at one London clinic
MedicineWhat it doesPrice
Gonal-f 900 IU penFSH stimulation injection£360
Bemfola 150 IUFSH stimulation injection£40
Menopur 1200 IU multidosehMG stimulation injection£460
Cetrotide 0.25 mgStops early ovulation, one injection£30
Ovitrelle 250 mcg penTrigger injection before egg collection£40
Cyclogest 400 mg, 15 pessariesProgesterone support after transfer£30

Source: Harley Street Fertility Clinic, London, medications price list effective 1 July 2023. Prices may have changed; ask your clinic for its current list. None of the Irish clinics we checked publishes a medicine figure.

On the NHS, the HFEA says patients may still pay prescription charges for fertility drugs unless they are exempt. Self-funded patients usually buy them through the clinic or a pharmacy it names; ask whether you can compare pharmacy prices.

IVF cost abroad

Cycle prices clinics publish in each country, converted to pounds and dollars. Most of these leave medicines out or do not say, and a fresh cycle means about 2 to 3 weeks near the clinic for scans, egg collection and transfer, less if the clinic lets you start the injections at home.

IVF cycle prices abroad by country
CountryClinicsIn GBPIn USD
IVF in Japan1£1,230$1,650
IVF in Poland3£1,670 to £3,090$2,230 to $4,130
IVF in Malaysia1£2,200 to £3,460$2,940 to $4,620
IVF in China1£2,470 to £5,050$3,300 to $6,750
IVF in Turkey1£2,510$3,360
IVF in Czechia3£2,510 to £2,720$3,360 to $3,630
IVF in Thailand3£3,330 to £9,640$4,450 to $12,890
IVF in Spain2£4,480 to £4,680$5,990 to $6,260

Every country, with waits at home and a rough trip cost: IVF abroad compared. Gift Fertility in Bangkok is one of the few clinics abroad that shows medicines in its own breakdown: 70,000 to 80,000 THB of a 250,000 THB cycle.

Compare with your wait and price at home

Pick IVF and where you live: the calculator puts your price at home next to each country's price plus a rough travel estimate for a 14-night stay.

Open the calculator

Will the NHS, the HSE or a province pay?

  • England: NICE says to offer IVF to women under 42 (3 cycles under 40, 1 cycle at 40 or 41), but each local ICB decides who it funds and may add rules on age, weight, smoking or children. The HFEA says 27% of UK IVF cycles were NHS-funded in 2022.
  • Ireland: The HSE pays for 1 round of IVF or ICSI per couple, with rules on age (woman under 41 at referral), weight, smoking and existing children.
  • Canada: Ontario funds one IVF cycle (under 43, drugs extra), Quebec one cycle for life, and British Columbia up to CAD 19,000 for one cycle depending on income. Alberta does not cover IVF.
  • US: no national cover; it depends on your insurer and your state. Clinic self-pay prices above are for patients paying themselves.

Why two IVF quotes are hard to compare

The HFEA, the UK fertility regulator, says some clinics quote for treatment only and do not include fertility drugs, which it calls very expensive, freezing leftover embryos or admin costs. Its advice: “Make sure you get a fully costed treatment plan before committing to a clinic.” Before you compare, ask each clinic in writing:

  1. Is the embryo transfer in the price? TRIO lists a fresh transfer separately at $1,350; Strong Fertility includes up to two.
  2. Are ICSI, embryo culture to day 5 and freezing included? CREATE (UK) charges ICSI from £1,395 extra; NHS Grampian includes it.
  3. What will my medicines cost? A range for your likely dose, and where you buy them.
  4. What happens if the cycle is cancelled before egg collection, or no embryos are suitable to transfer?
  5. What does storage cost after the first year, and each frozen transfer after that?

How much does IVF cost: questions

How much does IVF cost?

One IVF cycle costs £3,795 to £4,909 at the UK clinics we checked, $7,994 to $20,000 in the US, C$9,000 to C$13,500 in Canada and from €5,300 in Ireland. Those are cycle fees: most leave out the fertility medicines, which clinics put at £498 to £997 in Aberdeen, $4,000 to $6,000 at two US university clinics and C$5,000 to C$10,000+ in Toronto.

What is the average cost of IVF?

No official body in the UK, US, Canada or Ireland publishes an average price per cycle that we could check, so we show the range clinics publish instead. Duke Fertility Center gives its own guide: $12,450 to $18,000 for a self-pay cycle, plus average medication costs of $5,000 to $6,000.

How much does IVF cost in the US?

$7,994 to $20,000 for one cycle at the four US clinics we checked, before medicines at most of them. UCSF estimates $20,900 to $28,900 all in, with medicines, genetic testing and anaesthesia; the Strong Fertility Center in Rochester charges $9,790 for a first cycle with up to two transfers, medicines extra.

How much does private IVF cost in the UK?

CREATE Fertility starts at £3,795 a cycle, and the NHS clinic in Aberdeen charges self-funded patients £4,909. With medicines, Aberdeen puts a first round at £5,660 to £6,160. The HFEA says some clinic prices leave out drugs, freezing and admin, so ask for a fully costed plan.

How much do IVF medications cost?

It depends on the dose. NHS Grampian charges £498 to £997 for an 11-day supply of stimulation drugs; Duke gives an average of $5,000 to $6,000; CNY Fertility says $1,500 to $7,000+, with many standard protocols about $2,700; TRIO in Toronto says C$5,000 to C$10,000+.

Is IVF cheaper abroad?

The cycle fee usually is. The lowest published prices we found are in Japan ($1,650), Poland ($2,230 to $4,130) and Malaysia ($2,940 to $4,620), but most of those do not include or do not mention medicines, and a fresh cycle means about 2 to 3 weeks near the clinic, less if you can start the injections at home.

Does the NHS or the HSE pay for IVF?

Sometimes. In England, NICE recommends up to 3 cycles for eligible women under 40, but each local ICB decides what it funds. The HSE pays for 1 round per couple, with conditions. In Canada, Ontario funds one cycle (drugs extra) and Quebec one cycle for life; Alberta does not cover IVF.

Sources

  1. Costs and funding of fertility treatment. Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority (HFEA). Read 26 October 2026.
  2. IVF & fertility treatment costs: our prices. CREATE Fertility (UK). Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Costed treatment plan: charges for 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027 (CO-GN-0013 Rev49, PDF). NHS Grampian, Aberdeen Fertility Centre, 2 April 2026. Read 27 October 2026.
  4. Fertility treatment fees. TRIO Fertility (Toronto). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Fees. CReATe Fertility Centre (Toronto). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Treatment costs. ReproMed (Dublin and Galway). Read 26 October 2026.
  7. IVF cost 2026: breakdown of prices, add-ons and how to save. CNY Fertility. Read 26 October 2026.
  8. IVF costs. Strong Fertility Center, University of Rochester Medical Center. Read 27 October 2026.
  9. Estimating self-pay costs. Duke Fertility Center (Duke Health). Read 27 October 2026.
  10. Fertility fees and cost. UCSF Center for Reproductive Health. Read 27 October 2026.
  11. IVF and ICSI costs at Gift Fertility. Gift Fertility (Bangkok). Read 26 October 2026.
  12. Medications price list (effective 1 July 2023, PDF). Harley Street Fertility Clinic, London, 1 July 2023. Read 27 October 2026.
  13. 生殖補助医療 自費料金表 (self-pay fees for assisted reproduction). Kyorin University Hospital, Department of Gynaecology, 1 June 2024. Read 26 October 2026.
  14. Cennik. nOvum (Warsaw), 19 March 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  15. Cennik usług medycznych. Centrum Leczenia Niepłodności Novomedica (Mysłowice). Read 26 October 2026.
  16. About the hospital. INVICTA Fertility Clinic (Warsaw). Read 27 October 2026.
  17. Centres and specialties. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  18. Prices. Mahkota Medical Centre. Read 27 October 2026.
  19. Centres and specialties. Jiahui International Hospital. Read 27 October 2026.
  20. IVF treatment. Acıbadem Healthcare Group (international patients). Read 26 October 2026.
  21. Prices. Gennet (Prague). Read 27 October 2026.
  22. Centres and specialties. PRONATAL (Prague). Read 27 October 2026.
  23. Prices. Reprofit (Brno). Read 27 October 2026.
  24. IVF in Thailand for foreigners: cost, process and success (2026). Genesis Fertility Center (Bangkok). Read 26 October 2026.
  25. International patients. Gift Fertility Bangkok (IVF & Women Clinic). Read 27 October 2026.
  26. Centres and specialties. IVI Fertility (clinics in Spain). Read 27 October 2026.
  27. Precios de los tratamientos de fertilidad [fertility treatment prices]. Dexeus Mujer. Read 27 October 2026.
  28. Key facts and statistics. Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority (HFEA). Read 26 October 2026.
  29. Fertility problems: assessment and treatment (NG257), access criteria for IVF. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), 31 March 2026. Read 27 October 2026.
  30. IVF (in vitro fertilisation): availability and funding. NHS (nhs.uk), 15 April 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
  31. Get fertility treatments. Government of Ontario, 8 June 2026. Read 27 October 2026.
  32. Medically assisted reproduction program. Gouvernement du Québec, 22 January 2026. Read 27 October 2026.
  33. Publicly funded IVF program. Government of British Columbia, 1 June 2026. Read 27 October 2026.
  34. Alberta Health Care Insurance Plan: what is covered. Government of Alberta. Read 27 October 2026.
  35. Getting IVF and other specialist treatment through the HSE. Health Service Executive (HSE), 30 June 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
  36. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.