Paying for yourself, the knee replacement cost UK private hospitals publish runs from £13,799 to £18,078 for a total knee, at the 10 hospitals and groups we read on 5 November 2026, and the median of their lowest prices is £16,167. A partial knee is not always cheaper, and a robotic-assisted operation adds about £1,483 to £3,114 at the hospitals that list both. Below: every published price with what it includes, the partial and robotic prices next to the same hospital's standard one, the NHS wait, and the price abroad with the trip.

Short answer

A private total knee replacement costs about £13,799 to £18,078 in the UK at hospitals that publish a self-pay price, with a median of £16,167 (our calculation from 10 hospitals and groups, read 5 November 2026). The first consultation is usually £145 to £285 extra. Nuffield Health's partial knee guide price is £16,452, £462 below its total knee. Robotic-assisted knees cost £1,483 to £3,114 more where a hospital lists both.

Total knee, self-pay
£13,799 to £18,078 (10 hospitals and groups)
Median of lowest prices
£16,167 (our calculation)
Partial knee
£16,452 at Nuffield Health (average guide price)
Robotic-assisted
£1,483 to £3,114 more than the same hospital's standard knee
NHS orthopaedics, England
61.1% within 18 weeks (all orthopaedics) (August 2026)

Knee replacement cost in the UK, hospital by hospital

These are the self-pay prices for a total knee replacement that each hospital or group publishes on its own page, cheapest first. A fixed price, a "from" price and an average guide price are different promises, so read what each one includes before you compare.

Practice Plus GroupEngland (10 Practice Plus Group hospitals)
Total knee£13,799
Price typeFixed price
First consultation£145
Same price at all 10 hospitals listed. £145 consultation extra (£13,944 with it); the page says the price includes everything, with no hidden costs and no post-op follow-up costs: the consultation with X-rays, bloods and swabs, the treatment plan and surgery, post-operative medication, follow-up appointments, home mobility aids and physiotherapy. Wait “typically under 4 weeks”. Source
Oaklands Hospital (Ramsay Health Care)Salford (Greater Manchester)
Total knee£14,800
Price typeFrom
First consultationNot stated
The price page lists the “from” price only; what it includes is not stated there. 0% payment plans offered, subject to status. Source
Clifton Park Hospital (Ramsay Health Care)York
Total knee£14,975
Price typeFrom
First consultationNot stated
The price page lists the “from” price only; what it includes is not stated there. 0% payment plans offered, subject to status. Source
Spire Manchester HospitalManchester
Total knee£15,112
Price typeFrom
First consultation£253
Spire’s standard inclusions: the operation, consultant and anaesthetist fees, stay, standard implant and aftercare (details below). Source
Spire London East HospitalIlford (east London)
Total knee£16,115
Price typeFrom
First consultation£233
Spire’s standard inclusions: the operation, consultant and anaesthetist fees, stay, standard implant and aftercare (details below). Source
Spire Bristol HospitalBristol
Total knee£16,218
Price typeFrom
First consultation£285
Spire’s standard inclusions: the operation, consultant and anaesthetist fees, stay, standard implant and aftercare (details below). Source
Spire Leeds HospitalLeeds
Total knee£16,267
Price typeFrom
First consultation£234
Spire’s standard inclusions: the operation, consultant and anaesthetist fees, stay, standard implant and aftercare (details below). Source
Ashtead Hospital (Ramsay Health Care)Ashtead (Surrey)
Total knee£16,606
Price typeFrom
First consultationNot stated
The price page lists the “from” price only; what it includes is not stated there. Interest-free finance offered, subject to status. Source
Nuffield HealthUK-wide
Total knee£16,914
Price typeAverage guide price, from
First consultationfrom £200
Pre-assessment, main treatment and post-discharge care included. Initial consultation from £200 extra (guide price with consultation £17,114). Final price may vary with consultant fees, prosthesis or drugs used. Source
Spire Southampton HospitalSouthampton
Total knee£18,078
Price typeFrom
First consultation£236
Spire’s standard inclusions: the operation, consultant and anaesthetist fees, stay, standard implant and aftercare (details below). Source

GBP, self-pay, one knee. Prices read 5 November 2026 on each hospital's own page. Listing a hospital is not a recommendation, and no hospital pays to appear.

Taking each hospital's lowest published price, the median is £16,167 and the simple average £15,888: our calculation from 10 prices, not an official figure. Where you live moves the price as much as the group. The 5 Spire hospitals we read charge from £15,112 in Manchester to £18,078 in Southampton, and the 3 Ramsay hospitals from £14,800 to £16,606. Practice Plus Group charges £13,799 at all 10 of its hospitals, and says that is around £2,000 below some of its closest competitors. Nuffield Health publishes one average guide price, £16,914.

Partial knee replacement cost in the UK

A partial knee, also called a unicompartmental or half knee replacement, replaces only the worn part of the joint. Spire describes it as removing a much thinner piece of bone from one side of the knee, through an incision of about 8cm that does not cut muscle or tendon, so recovery is quicker; it says most people walk reasonably after about 4 weeks (Spire Healthcare).

Only one group published a separate partial knee price on the pages we read. Nuffield Health's average guide price for a partial knee is £16,452, against £16,914 for its total knee: £462 less, with the same first consultation from £200 on top (Nuffield Health). It says some patients go home the same day and others stay a day or two. Practice Plus Group says its knee surgery can be partial, keyhole or total, and lists one price for knee replacement; Spire's hospital pages did not show a partial price. Ask for the partial price in writing if your surgeon offers one.

Whether you can have a partial knee is a clinical question. Nuffield Health says it may not be suitable if the osteoarthritis is in more than one compartment of the knee or the knee ligaments are not stable. A cheaper quote for a partial knee is no reason to ask for one.

Robotic knee replacement cost in the UK

Some hospitals list a robotic-assisted knee replacement next to their standard one. Nuffield Health describes the robot as technology that helps your surgeon plan and position the implant more accurately. These are the hospitals that publish both prices:

Spire Leeds HospitalLeeds
Robotic-assisted£17,750
Standard knee£16,267
Difference£1,483 more
Robotic assisted knee replacement, treatment price (from); first consultation £215 extra. Source
Clifton Park Hospital (Ramsay Health Care)York
Robotic-assisted£16,750
Standard knee£14,975
Difference£1,775 more
Robotic assisted total knee replacement (from). Source
Spire Manchester HospitalManchester
Robotic-assisted£18,226
Standard knee£15,112
Difference£3,114 more
Robotic assisted knee replacement, treatment price (from); first consultation £250 extra. Source

From prices, GBP, read 5 November 2026. Our differences.

Nuffield Health says robotic-assisted partial knee surgery can mean a faster recovery and a shorter stay for many patients. The hospitals' pages do not say a robot is better for everyone, so ask your surgeon what it changes for your knee, and whether they use it routinely, before you pay the difference.

What the price of a knee replacement leaves out

  • The first consultation. Spire lists it at £233 to £285 depending on the hospital, Nuffield Health from £200 and Practice Plus Group £145, which it says includes X-rays, bloods and swabs.
  • The surgeon, the implant and your health. Spire's prices are "from" prices that can rise with the consultant, the anaesthetic, the implant and your medical history; Nuffield says the same about consultant fees and the prosthesis. Practice Plus Group says the price it quotes is the price you pay, with no follow-up costs.
  • Aftercare. Spire includes physiotherapy and follow-up consultations up to the number in your treatment letter, stitches, dressings and 14 days of medication, but not some home aids. Practice Plus Group lists home mobility aids and physiotherapy as included. Ramsay's price pages show only the "from" price, so ask what it covers.
  • Finance. Spire's example is a 48-month loan at 9.9% APR with a £1,250 deposit, on the treatment price only. Ramsay offers 0% or interest-free plans at the hospitals we read, subject to status.

Private knee replacement vs the NHS wait

On the NHS in England, 61.1% within 18 weeks (all orthopaedics) at the end of August 2026. Trauma and orthopaedics as a whole, not knee replacement alone: share of people waiting who were within 18 weeks of referral (843,419 waiting; 4 trusts did not submit data). Practice Plus Group says its private knee replacements are typically done in under 4 weeks. The private price buys a sooner operation, not a different one. Check your expected date and your rights on the NHS knee replacement waiting time, and the monthly figures on the NHS waiting list tracker.

Knee replacement abroad: the price with the trip

Hospitals abroad that publish a price mostly charge less, and on an operation this size the flight and hotel are a small part of the total. These are each country's published hospital prices in pounds, and the same with a rough flight and hotel.

Knee replacement in Poland4 hospitals with a published price
At the hospital£4,920up to £7,440
With flight and hotelabout £5,840
Against the lowest UK priceabout £7,960 less
Knee replacement in Hungary1 hospital with a published price
At the hospital£5,370
With flight and hotelabout £6,320
Against the lowest UK priceabout £7,480 less
Knee replacement in Thailand1 hospital with a published price
At the hospital£4,880
With flight and hotelabout £6,430
Against the lowest UK priceabout £7,370 less
Knee replacement in Malaysia2 hospitals with a published price
At the hospital£6,410up to £7,510
With flight and hotelabout £7,960
Against the lowest UK priceabout £5,840 less
Knee replacement in Mexico1 hospital with a published price
At the hospital£9,720
With flight and hotelabout £11,320
Against the lowest UK priceabout £2,480 less
Knee replacement in United Arab Emirates1 hospital with a published price
At the hospital£15,280
With flight and hotelabout £16,530
Against the lowest UK priceabout £2,730 more

Converted at the European Central Bank rate. The trip is a rough example, not a quote. Some foreign prices leave out the implant or the stay; each country page lists what every hospital includes.

Before you book abroad, ask when you can fly home (see flying after knee replacement) and who will see you if the wound or the knee needs attention once you are back. All countries are on knee replacement abroad.

Before you pay for a knee replacement

  1. Ask which operation you needTotal, partial or robotic-assisted is your surgeon's call; get it named in the quote.
  2. Get one written priceWith the implant, the nights in hospital, physiotherapy and follow-up appointments included or not.
  3. Add the consultationAnd any scans it leads to, before you compare hospitals.
  4. Ask about complicationsWho pays if you need to go back to theatre or stay longer.